Skip to main content

如何从Mac中删除Maftask病毒进程

本帖详细介绍了一种名为Maftask的恶意Mac进程,解释了它与Spchlpr、helperamcm helpermcp、hlpradc和hiprade病毒有什么关系,并包括了去除步骤。

更新资料: 二月 2024

威胁概要
名称 Mac Auto Fixer 假系统工具
类别 Mac 恐吓软件,流氓系统清理程序
恶意进程名称 Maftask
检测 Avast: MacOS:AMC-DK [PUP], BitDefender: Adware.MAC.Generic.12496, ESET: A Variant Of OSX/GT32SupportGeeks.B, Microsoft: PUA:MacOS/AMCleaner.B!MTB, Sophos: AdvancedMacCleaner (PUA), Symantec: OSX.Trojan.Gen.2
症状 显示误导性的扫描报告和跟进警报,损害系统性能,将Web浏览器重定向到不需要的站点
分发技术 捆绑免费软件,种子下载,引诱用户下载的软件更新,误导性弹出广告,垃圾邮件
严重程度 中等
损害 Mac 速度变慢,侵入式警报,因 Internet 活动跟踪导致的隐私问题,浏览器重定向,多余的在线广告
清除 使用 Combo Cleaner 扫描您的 Mac 以检测与浏览器劫持程序相关的所有文件。如果发现感染,请使用此工具删除感染

低估Mac恶意软件的能力和复杂性是一个危险的下坡路。瞄准苹果生态系统的威胁行为者正在变得越来越精通技术,他们的恶意代码可以采用不同的形式来规避检测和防止终止。其中一种比较复杂的样本是Mac Auto Fixer,它将其触角深深地注入主机系统,并撒下相关的文件和进程以持久存在。一些受害者没有注意到这些感染的额外碎片,但那些寻找它们的人通常会发现一个名为“maftask”或“maf-task”的可执行文件。它在被感染的Mac的活动监视器中列出为正在运行的进程,另一个条目“com.techyutil.maftask.plist”将出现在LaunchDaemons中。

在活动监视器中的Maftask进程

&因此,真正的罪魁祸首名为Mac Auto Fixer,它在系统级别上体现为Maftask进程,难怪一些用户将后者称为麻烦制造者。这个明显表现异常的应用程序是一个混合了流氓优化工具和伪安全软件的组合。它假装发现了一堆macOS性能问题以及隐私和恶意软件问题,试图说服受害者购买它的许可证肯定是他们待办事项清单上的事情。它拥有流畅的图形用户界面设计,并多次触发看起来可信的系统扫描。

报告列举了数百个应该立即删除或修复的项目,包括重复项、不必要的登录项、下载失败和内存问题。最重要的是,Maftask病毒会声明可用空间太少,敦促用户在一个点击中释放内存。

实际恶意软件为Mac Auto Fixer

Mac Auto Fixer(Maf-task)恶意软件的伪扫描活动伴随着大量弹窗,进一步向用户施加压力,促使他们立即采取行动。警报通常提到在特定系统区域发现的威胁和问题数量,并建议受害者通过注册程序的完整版本来解决所有问题。该感染还可以通过将流量重定向到欺骗性警告页面来影响Mac使用的网络浏览方面。这种不利影响背后的动机是双重的。一方面,该威胁试图通过让受害者访问报告各种系统性能问题和恶意软件的网站来增加额外压力。另一方面,它的操作者可能希望通过广告网络生成对诸如Yahoo或Bing等合法搜索提供商的独特点击来利用他们在Mac上的立足点。长话短说,Maftask采用大量洗脑手段欺骗和恐吓感染计算机的所有者 coughing up 注册费用。因此,遵循这些恼人的提示是一个坏主意,因为大多数问题都是虚假的,唯一真正的敌人是所谓的Mac性能增强程序本身。

在Mac Auto Fixer恶意软件的最初爆发之后,Maftask感染再次大规模增加,并在2019年10月初扎根,自那以后一直是一个持续的严重问题。根据受害者的报告,这种可疑活动的转折点伴随着以下进程的恶意活动:

  • hlpradc
  • spchlpr
  • hiprade
  • helperamc
  • helpermcp
  • ummhlpr
  • sspchlpr
  • APMHelper
  • smbstrhlpr
  • MapsAndDirections-1668307
  • ProntoApp
  • WebSocketServerApp
  • FocusReportingService
  • CellularService
  • EasyConverter-955179
  • freeForm-959837
  • macalive
  • tonictasks
  • mohip
  • source.app

上述大部分文件都是广泛存在的广告软件应用程序和仿冒系统清理工具使用的可执行文件,包括Smart Mac Booster、Unpollute My Mac、Mac Cleanup Pro、Mac Ads Cleaner和Advanced Mac Cleaner。这些有害程序经常与Mac Auto Fixer一起入侵Mac,以同一捆绑软件的形式出现,隐藏了机会主义性感染。因此,如果maftask已经上船,检查Mac中是否有这些危险的附加组件非常重要。

主要症状是弹出警报,提示“maftask会损坏您的计算机。您应该将其移到垃圾桶中”,其中造成问题的可执行文件的名称可以是上述任何一个有害进程的名称(“[有害进程名称]会损坏您的计算机”)。顺便说一句,Spchlpr是由类似照片清理器使用的二进制文件的名称,这是Mac上臭名昭著的假优化工具。

在macOS Catalina 10.15中出现的Mohlp弹出窗口

值得一提的是,所有这些事件有一个共同点:它们与 macOS Catalina 10.15 的升级同时发生,这是操作系统的最新主要版本。这些警报可能是全新 macOS 版本对于安装 Catalina 前在已感染计算机上无法检测到的病毒的响应。好消息是,苹果似乎正在改进其平台的恶意软件识别功能,但受感染的用户仍然被困扰着烦人的警报。

Maftask病毒通过巧妙的安装客户端侵入Mac。它们的阴险实质在于将良性应用程序与有害应用程序结合在一个统一的平台下。常规程序是唯一在设置向导中清晰标示的程序,而Mac Auto Fixer恶意软件则潜伏在它的设置中,需要花费时间进行切换。总之,Maftask是危险和讨厌的Mac scareware的组成部分,因此应该相应地对待。继续阅读本文,了解如何删除此害虫并在浏览器级别上消除其影响。

Mac系统Maftask病毒手动清除

以下列出的步驟將引導您刪除該惡意應用程式。

  1. 展開Mac的Finder欄中的“前往”菜單,然後選擇“工具程式”,如下所示。

    前往“工具程式”

  2. 在“工具程式”屏幕上找到“活動監視器”圖標,然後雙擊。

    選擇“活動監視器”

  3. 在“活动监视器”应用程序中查找名为maftask或其他看起来可疑的进程。为了缩小搜索范围,专注于列表中不熟悉但资源占用较高的条目。请记住,进程的名称不一定与威胁的表现方式相关,因此您需要信任自己的判断。如果您找到了罪魁祸首,请选择它并点击屏幕左上角的“停止”图标。

    停止惡意進程

  4. 後續對話框彈出,並詢問您是否確定要結束故障排除過程時,請選擇“強制結束”選項。

    Select the Force Quit option

  5. 再次單擊Finder中的“前往”菜單圖標,然後選擇“前往資料夾”。您也可以使用Command-Shift-G鍵盤快捷鍵。

    使用前往資料夾功能

  6. 在文件夾搜索對話框中輸入/ 資源庫 / LaunchAgents,然後單擊“前往”按鍵。

    打開/資料庫 / LaunchAgents資料夾

  7. 檢查LaunchAgents資料夾內是否有可疑的項目。請注意,由惡意軟件生成的文件名稱可能無法提供說明它們是惡意軟件的明確線索,

    以下是與主流Mac感染相關的幾個LaunchAgents示例:com.techyutil.maftask.plistcom.techyutil.mafuninstaller.plistcom.pcv.hlpramc.plistcom.msp.agent.plist。如果發現不屬於列表的文件,請繼續將其拖至垃圾桶。

    根級別LaunchAgents資料夾內容

  8. 再次使用“前往資料夾”的查找導航功能,並在搜索字段中輸入〜/ 資源庫 / Application Support的資料夾(請注意路徑前的波浪符號)。

    打開〜/ 資源庫 / Application Support資料夾

  9. 打開“Application Support”目錄時,請在其中識別最近生成的可疑資料夾,並將它們發送到“垃圾桶”。快速提示是查找名稱與您故意安裝的Apple產品或應用程式無關的項目。已知的部分惡意資料夾名稱示例有Mac Auto FixerProgressSiteIdeaShared

    “Application Support資料夾內容

  10. 在“前往資料夾” 搜索字段中輸入〜/ 資源庫 / LaunchAgents字符串(不要忘記添加波浪符號)。

    打開〜/ 資源庫 / LaunchAgents目錄

  11. 系統將顯示當前用戶主目錄中的LaunchAgent。查找與“搜索侯爵”病毒相關的可疑項目(請參閱上方小節中突出顯示的邏輯),然後將可疑對象拖到垃圾桶。

    用戶主目錄中LaunchAgents資料夾的內容

  12. 在“前往資料夾”搜索字段中鍵入/ 資源庫 / LaunchDaemons

    前往/ 資源庫 / LaunchDaemons

  13. 在LaunchDaemons路徑中,嘗試查明惡意軟件使用的持久性文件。部分Mac感染示例包括com.pplauncher.plistcom.techyutil.maftask.plistcom.startup.plistcom.ExpertModuleSearchDaemon.plist。 立即刪除可疑文件。

    LaunchDaemons資料夾內容

  14. 單擊Mac的Finder中的“前往”菜單圖標,然後在列表中選擇“應用程式”。

    在Mac中前往“應用程式”屏幕

  15. 找到顯然不屬於該應用程式的條目,然後將其移至垃圾桶。如果此操作需要輸入管理員密碼進行確認,請繼續輸入管理員密碼。

    將惡意應用拖到垃圾桶

  16. 展開Apple菜單,然後選擇“系統偏好設定”。

    Select System Preferences

    打開系統偏好設定

  17. 轉至“用戶與組群”,然後單擊“登錄項目”選項卡。

    Proceed to Users & Groups

    系統將顯示計算機啟動時的啟動項目列表。 在此處找到可能不需要的應用程序,然後單擊“-”(減號)按鍵。

    刪除不需要的登錄項

  18. 現在,在“系統偏好設定置”下選擇“描述檔”。在左側邊欄中查找惡意項目。Mac廣告軟件創建的部分配置文件示例包括TechSignalSearchMainSearchPlatformAdminPrefsChrome Settings。選擇有問題的條目,然後單擊底部的減號,將其消除。

    Select Profiles under System Preferences

    從Mac刪除惡意配置文件

    如果您的Mac已被廣告軟件滲透,那麼即使您刪除了底層應用程序及其周圍散佈的組件,感染也很可能會繼續在默認的Web瀏覽器中佔據主導地位。使用下方的瀏覽器清除說明來進一步解決此攻擊的遺留後果。

在Mac上的網絡瀏覽器中擺脫Maftask重定向

首先,應將Maftask重定向]病毒接管的Web瀏覽器設置恢復為默認值。 儘管這將清除您的大多數自定義設置,網絡瀏覽歷史記錄以及網站存儲的所有臨時數據,但惡意干擾也應同樣終止。 完成此過程的步驟概述如下:

  1. 從Safari移除Maftask病毒
    • 打開瀏覽器,然後轉到Safari菜單。 在下拉列表中選擇首選項。

      在Safari中轉到“偏好設置”

    • 出現“首選項”屏幕後,單擊“高級”選項卡,然後啟用選項“在菜單欄中顯示開髮菜單”。

      “ Safari偏好設置”下的“高級”標籤

    • 現在,“開發”條目已添加到Safari菜單中,將其展開並單擊“空緩存”。.

      Safari中的空緩存

    • 現在,在Safari菜單中選擇“歷史記錄”,然後在下拉列表中單擊“清除歷史記錄”

      清除Safari中的歷史記錄

    • Safari將顯示一個對話框,要求您指定此操作將應用的時間。 選擇所有歷史記錄以確保發揮最大作用。 單擊清除歷史記錄按鈕以確認並退出。

      選擇所有歷史記錄以清除

    • 返回Safari偏好設置,然後點擊頂部的“隱私”標籤。 找到顯示“管理網站數據”的選項,然後單擊它。

      “隱私”選項卡下的“管理網站數據”選項

    • 瀏覽器將顯示一個後續屏幕,列出存儲了有關Internet活動數據的網站。 此對話框還簡要說明了刪除操作:在執行此步驟後,您可能會退出某些服務並遇到網站行為的其他變化。 如果可以的話,請繼續並點擊全部刪除按鈕。

      “確認”對話框

    • 重新啟動Safari。
  2. 從Google Chrome移除Maftask重定向
    • 打開Chrome,點擊窗口右上角的自定義和控制Google Chrome圖標,然後在下拉菜單中選擇設置。

       打開Chrome,點擊窗口右上角的自定義和控制Google Chrome圖標,然後在下拉菜單中選擇設置。

    • 在“設置”窗格上時,選擇“高級”。
    • 向下滾動到“重置設置”部分。

       向下滾動到“重置設置”部分。

    • 在彈出的對話框中確認Chrome重置。 該過程完成後,重新啟動瀏覽器並檢查其是否存在惡意軟件活動。

      這是在Mac上的Chrome中重置設置的方法

  3. 從Mozilla Firefox移除 Maftask病毒
    • 打開Firefox並轉到“幫助-故障排除信息”(或在URL欄中鍵入about:support,然後按Enter)。

      打開Firefox並轉到“幫助-故障排除信息”

      打開Firefox並轉到“幫助-故障排除信息”

    • 在“故障排除信息”屏幕上,單擊“刷新Firefox”按鈕。

      在Mac上刷新Firefox

    • 確認預期的更改,然後重新啟動Firefox。

使用自动工具从您的Mac上卸载Maftask病毒

Mac維護和安全性應用程序Combo Cleaner是一站式可檢測和刪除Maftask病毒工具 。 與實用程序清除相比,此技術具有實質性優勢,因為該實用程序每小時更新一次病毒定義,甚至可以準確發現最新的Mac感染。

此外,自動解決方案將在系統結構的深處找到惡意軟件的核心文件,否則可能很難找到該文件。 這是使用Combo Cleaner解決安全查找器問題的演練:

  1. 下載Combo Cleaner安裝程序。 完成後,雙擊combocleaner.dmg文件,然後按照提示將工具安裝到Mac。

    下載組合清潔器

    下載本網站上推薦的任何應用程序即表示您同意我們的條款和條件以及隱私政策。 免費的掃描儀會檢查您的Mac是否被感染。 要清除惡意軟件,您需要購買高級版本的Combo Cleaner。

  2. 從啟動板打開應用程序,然後讓其運行惡意軟件簽名數據庫的更新,以確保它可以識別最新的威脅。
  3. 單擊“開始組合掃描”按鈕,檢查Mac是否存在惡意活動以及性能問題。

    Combo Cleaner Mac scan progress

  4. 檢查掃描結果。 如果報告中顯示“沒有威脅”,那麼您將處於手動清理的正確軌道,並且可以安全地整理網絡瀏覽器,該網絡瀏覽器由於受到惡意軟件攻擊的後果而可能繼續起作用(請參閱上面的說明 )。

    Combo Cleaner scan report – no threats found

  5. 如果Combo Cleaner檢測到惡意代碼,請單擊“刪除選定的項目”按鈕,並使該實用程序刪除Maftask威脅以及Mac上不屬於的任何其他病毒,PUP(可能有害程序)或垃圾文件。

    Combo Cleaner – threats found

  6. 一旦再次確定已卸載惡意應用程序,瀏覽器級別的疑難解答可能仍會在您的待辦事項列表中。 如果您喜歡的瀏覽器受到影響,請訴諸本教程的上一部分以恢復為輕鬆的網絡瀏覽。

常问问题

52

Was this article helpful? Please, rate this.

There are no comments yet.
Authentication required

You must log in to post a comment.

Log in

Skip to main content

How to remove Maftask virus process from Mac [Apr 2020]


This post provides details on the malicious Mac process called Maftask (Maf-Task), explains what it has to do with Spchlpr, Hlpradc, hiprade, helperamc and helpermcp viruses, and includes removal steps.

Update: April 2020

Threat Profile
Name Mac Auto Fixer fake system utility
Category Mac scareware, rogue system cleaner
Malicious process name Maftask
Detection Avast: MacOS:AMC-DK [PUP], BitDefender: Adware.MAC.Generic.12496, ESET: A Variant Of OSX/GT32SupportGeeks.B, Microsoft: PUA:MacOS/AMCleaner.B!MTB, Sophos: AdvancedMacCleaner (PUA), Symantec: OSX.Trojan.Gen.2
Symptoms Displays misleading scan reports and follow-up alerts, deteriorates system performance, redirects web browser to unwanted sites
Distribution Techniques Freeware bundles, torrents, booby-trapped software updates, misleading popup ads, spam
Severity Level Medium
Damage Mac slowdown, obtrusive alerts, privacy issues due to Internet activity tracking, browser redirects, redundant online ads
Removal Scan your Mac with Combo Cleaner to detect all files related to the browser hijacker. Use the tool to remove the infection if found.

Underestimating the capabilities and complexity of Mac malware is a slippery slope. The threat actors who zero in on the Apple ecosystem are becoming increasingly tech-savvy, and their malicious code can assume different shapes to evade detection and prevent termination. Mac Auto Fixer, one of the fairly sophisticated samples from that category, injects its tentacles deep inside a host system and sprinkles concomitant files and processes in order to persevere. Some victims fail to notice these extra fragments of the infection, but those who look for them typically spot an executable file named “maftask” or "maf-task". It is listed among the running processes in the contaminated Mac’s Activity Monitor, and another entry “com.techyutil.maftask.plist” is going to end up in the LaunchDaemons.

Maftask process in Activity Monitor

So, the actual culprit’s name is Mac Auto Fixer, and it’s embodied on the system level as the Maftask process – no wonder some users refer to the latter as the troublemaker. The conspicuously misbehaving application is a mix of a rogue optimization tool and pseudo security software. It pretends to find a bevy of macOS performance issues as well as privacy and malware problems, thus attempting to persuade the victim that purchasing its license is certainly on their to-do list. It boasts sleek GUI design and triggers trustworthy-looking system scans over and over.

The reports enumerate hundreds of items that should supposedly be deleted or fixed at once, including duplicates, unnecessary login items, failed downloads and memory issues. To top it all off, the Maftask virus will state there is too little available space left and urge the user to have memory released in one click.

Mac Auto Fixer – the actual malware

The pseudo scanning activity of Mac Auto Fixer (Maf-task) malware is accompanied by numerous popups that further pressure the user into taking immediate action. The alerts typically mention the number of threats and issues spotted in specific system areas and recommend the victim to sort them all out by registering the full version of the program. The infection can also impact the web surfing facet of Mac usage by rerouting traffic to spoof warning pages. The motivation behind this adverse effect is two-pronged. One the one hand, the threat tries to complement its activity with extra pressure by making the victim visit sites reporting various system performance issues and malware. On the other hand, its operators may want to monetize their foothold in the Mac by generating unique hits to legit search providers, such as Yahoo or Bing, via advertising networks. Long story short, Maftask deploys a great deal of brainwashing to dupe and intimidate the owner of the infected computer into coughing up a registration fee. Therefore, following those annoying prompts is a bad idea because most of the problems are phony and the only real adversary is the alleged Mac performance booster itself.

Another massive surge of Maftask infections after the original outbreak of the Mac Auto Fixer malware took root in early October 2019 and has been a consistently serious concern ever since. According to the victims’ reports, this twist in the dodgy campaign is accompanied by malicious activity of the following processes:

  • hlpradc
  • spchlpr
  • hiprade
  • helperamc
  • helpermcp
  • ummhlpr
  • sspchlpr
  • APMHelper
  • smbstrhlpr
  • MapsAndDirections-1668307
  • ProntoApp
  • WebSocketServerApp
  • FocusReportingService
  • CellularService
  • EasyConverter-955179
  • freeForm-959837
  • macalive
  • tonictasks
  • mohip
  • source.app

Most of the above-mentioned files are executables used by widespread adware apps and counterfeit system cleaners, including Smart Mac Booster, Unpollute My Mac, Mac Cleanup Pro, Mac Ads Cleaner, and Advanced Mac Cleaner. These harmful programs often tailgate into Macs along with Mac Auto Fixer, coming in the same bundle that conceals the opportunistic infections. Therefore, it is important to check your Mac for these dangerous extras in case maftask is on board.

The main symptom is an emergence of popup alerts saying, maftask will damage your computer. You should move it to the Trash”, where the name of the perpetrating executable can be either one of the above-mentioned harmful processes (“[harmful process name] will damage your computer”). By the way, Spchlpr is the name of the binary used by Similar Photo Cleaner, a notorious fake optimization tool for Mac.

Mohlp popup in macOS Catalina 10.15

It’s worth mentioning that all of these incidents have one thing in common: they co-occured with an upgrade to macOS Catalina 10.15, the latest major release of the operating system. These alerts may be a response of the brand-new macOS version to the viruses that ran undetected prior to the installation of Catalina on pre-infected computers. The good news is that Apple appears to be improving the malware identification features of their platform, but the infected users are stuck with the annoying alerts anyway.

The Maftask virus penetrates into a Mac by means of tricky installation clients. Their nasty gist boils down to combining benign apps with harmful ones under a single umbrella. The regular program is the only one clearly indicated in the setup wizard, while the Mac Auto Fixer baddie lurks down in its settings that you have to spend time toggling. In summary, Maftask is a component of a dangerous and obnoxious Mac scareware, so it should be treated accordingly. Continue reading this entry to learn how to remove the pest and scotch its impact at the browser level.


Maftask virus manual removal for Mac

The steps listed below will walk you through the removal of this malicious application. Be sure to follow the instructions in the specified order.

  1. Expand the Go menu in your Mac’s Finder bar and select Utilities as shown below.

    Go to Utilities

  2. Locate the Activity Monitor icon on the Utilities screen and double-click on it.

    Select the Activity Monitor

  3. In the Activity Monitor app, look for maftask or another process that appears suspicious. To narrow down your search, focus on unfamiliar resource-intensive entries on the list. Keep in mind that its name isn’t necessarily related to the way the threat is manifesting itself, so you’ll need to trust your own judgement. If you pinpoint the culprit, select it and click on the Stop icon in the upper left-hand corner of the screen.

    Stop malicious process

  4. When a follow-up dialog pops up asking if you are sure you want to quit the troublemaking process, select the Force Quit option.

    Select the Force Quit option

  5. Click on the Go menu icon in the Finder again and select Go to Folder. You can as well use the Command-Shift-G keyboard shortcut.

    Use the Go to Folder feature

  6. Type /Library/LaunchAgents in the folder search dialog and click on the Go button.

    Open /Library/LaunchAgents folder

  7. Examine the contents of the LaunchAgents folder for dubious-looking items. Be advised that the names of files spawned by malware may give no clear clues that they are malicious, so you should look for recently added entities that appear to deviate from the norm.

    As an illustration, here are several examples of LaunchAgents related to mainstream Mac infections: com.techyutil.maftask.plist, com.techyutil.mafuninstaller.plist, com.pcv.hlpramc.plist, com.updater.mcy.plist, com.avickUpd.plist, and com.msp.agent.plist. If you spot files that don’t belong on the list, go ahead and drag them to the Trash.

    Root-level LaunchAgents folder contents

  8. Use the Go to Folder lookup feature again to navigate to the folder named ~/Library/Application Support (note the tilde symbol prepended to the path).

    Open ~/Library/Application Support folder

  9. When the Application Support directory is opened, identify recently generated suspicious folders in it and send them to the Trash. A quick tip is to look for items whose names have nothing to do with Apple products or apps you knowingly installed. A few examples of known-malicious folder names are Mac Auto Fixer, ProgressSite, and IdeaShared.

    Application Support folder contents

  10. Enter ~/Library/LaunchAgents string (don’t forget to include the tilde character) in the Go to Folder search area.

    Open ~/Library/LaunchAgents directory

  11. The system will display LaunchAgents residing in the current user’s Home directory. Look for dodgy items related to maftask virus (see logic highlighted in subsections above) and drag the suspects to the Trash.

    Contents of LaunchAgents folder in user’s home directory

  12. Type /Library/LaunchDaemons in the Go to Folder search field.

    Go to /Library/LaunchDaemons

  13. In the LaunchDaemons path, try to pinpoint the files the malware is using for persistence. Several examples of such items cropped by Mac infections are com.techyutil.maftask.plist, com.pplauncher.plist, com.startup.plist, and com.ExpertModuleSearchDaemon.plist. Delete the sketchy files immediately.

    LaunchDaemons folder contents

  14. Click on the Go menu icon in your Mac’s Finder and select Applications on the list.

    Go to Applications screen on Mac

  15. Find the entry for MacAutoFixer or another app that clearly doesn’t belong there and move it to the Trash. If this action requires your admin password for confirmation, go ahead and enter it.

    Drag malicious app to the Trash

  16. Expand the Apple menu and select System Preferences.

    Select System Preferences

    Open System Preferences

  17. Proceed to Users & Groups and click on the Login Items tab.

    Proceed to Users & Groups

    The system will display the list of items launched when the computer is starting up. Locate the potentially unwanted app there and click on the “-” (minus) button.

    Delete unwanted login item

  18. Now select Profiles under System Preferences. Look for a malicious item in the left-hand sidebar. Several examples of configuration profiles created by Mac adware include TechSignalSearch, MainSearchPlatform, AdminPrefs, and Chrome Settings. Select the offending entity and click on the minus sign at the bottom to eliminate it.

    Select Profiles under System Preferences

    Remove malicious configuration profile from Mac

    If your Mac has been infiltrated by adware, the infection will most likely continue to hold sway over your default web browser even after you remove the underlying application along with its components sprinkled around the system. Use the browser cleanup instructions below to address the remaining consequences of this attack.

Get rid of Maftask virus in web browser on Mac

To begin with, the web browser settings taken over by the Maftask virus should be restored to their default values. Although this will clear most of your customizations, web surfing history, and all temporary data stored by websites, the malicious interference should be terminated likewise. The overview of the steps for completing this procedure is as follows:

  1. Remove Maftask virus from Safari
    • Open the browser and go to Safari menu. Select Preferences in the drop-down list.

      Go to Preferences in Safari

    • Once the Preferences screen appears, click on the Advanced tab and enable the option saying “Show Develop menu in menu bar”.

      Advanced tab under Safari Preferences

    • Now that the Develop entry has been added to the Safari menu, expand it and click on Empty Caches.

      Empty Caches in Safari

    • Now select History in the Safari menu and click on Clear History in the drop-down list.

      Clear history in Safari

    • Safari will display a dialog asking you to specify the period of time this action will apply to. Select all history to ensure a maximum effect. Click on the Clear History button to confirm and exit.

      Select all history to clear

    • Go back to the Safari Preferences and hit the Privacy tab at the top. Find the option that says Manage Website Data and click on it.

      Manage Website Data option under Privacy tab

    • The browser will display a follow-up screen listing the websites that have stored data about your Internet activities. This dialog additionally includes a brief description of what the removal does: you may be logged out of some services and encounter other changes of website behavior after the procedure. If you’re okay with that, go ahead and click on the Remove All button.

      Confirmation dialog

    • Restart Safari
  2. Remove Maftask in Google Chrome
    • Open Chrome, click the Customize and control Google Chrome (⁝) icon in the top right-hand part of the window, and select Settings in the drop-down

      Chrome Settings

    • When on the Settings pane, select Advanced
    • Scroll down to the Reset settings section.

      Reset settings in Chrome on Mac

    • Confirm the Chrome reset on a dialog that will pop up. When the procedure is completed, relaunch the browser and check it for malware activity.

      Here’s how to reset settings in Chrome on Mac

  3. Remove Maftask from Mozilla Firefox
    • Open Firefox and go to Help – Troubleshooting Information (or type about:support in the URL bar and press Enter).

      Open Firefox and go to Help

      Select Troubleshooting Information

    • When on the Troubleshooting Information screen, click on the Refresh Firefox button.

      Refresh Firefox on Mac

    • Confirm the intended changes and restart Firefox.

Use automatic tool to uninstall Maftask virus from your Mac

The Mac maintenance and security app called Combo Cleaner is a one-stop tool to detect and remove Maftask virus. This technique has substantial benefits over manual cleanup, because the utility gets hourly virus definition updates and can accurately spot even the newest Mac infections.

Furthermore, the automatic solution will find the core files of the malware deep down the system structure, which might otherwise be a challenge to locate. Here’s a walkthrough to sort out the Maftask issue using Combo Cleaner:

  1. Download Combo Cleaner installer. When done, double-click the combocleaner.dmg file and follow the prompts to install the tool onto your Mac.

    Download Combo Cleaner

    By downloading any applications recommended on this website you agree to our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy. The free scanner checks whether your Mac is infected. To get rid of malware, you need to purchase the Premium version of Combo Cleaner.

  2. Open the app from your Launchpad and let it run the update of malware signature database to make sure it can identify the latest threats.
  3. Click the Start Combo Scan button to check your Mac for malicious activity as well as performance issues.

    Combo Cleaner Mac scan progress

  4. Examine the scan results. If the report says “No Threats”, then you are on the right track with the manual cleaning and can safely proceed to tidy up the web browser that may continue to act up due to the after-effects of the malware attack (see instructions above).

    Combo Cleaner scan report – no threats found

  5. In case Combo Cleaner has detected malicious code, click the Remove Selected Items button and have the utility remove Maftask threat along with any other viruses, PUPs (potentially unwanted programs), or junk files that don’t belong on your Mac.

    Combo Cleaner – threats found

  6. Once you have made doubly sure that the malicious app is uninstalled, the browser-level troubleshooting might still be on your to-do list. If your preferred browser is affected, resort to the previous section of this tutorial to revert to hassle-free web surfing.

FAQ

51

Was this article helpful? Please, rate this.

There are no comments yet.
Authentication required

You must log in to post a comment.

Log in