Skip to main content

كيفية إصلاح الاستخدام العالي لوحدة المعالجة المركزية والذاكرة لـ WindowServer في جهاز Mac

هذا الدليل يشرح كيفية معالجة الاستخدام العالي لوحدة المعالجة المركزية CPU من خلال عمليات WindowServer و nsurlsessiond و mdnsresponder و mds_stores و hidd و trustd و syslogd على نظام Mac.

تعد مشكلات التباطؤ نتيجة طبيعية لقدم جهاز Mac ونقصه للموارد اللازمة لدعم التطبيقات كثيفة الاستخدام للموارد بشكل متزايد. إذا كانت أجهزة الجهاز قابلة للترقية، فإن أحد الحلول المناسبة هو تثبيت المزيد من ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي RAM واستبدال وسائط التخزين "الدوارة" القياسية بمحرك أقراص SSD أسرع. لكن ماذا لو كان أداء جهاز MacBook أو iMac أو Mac Pro الجديد تماماً أو الذي تم إصداره مؤخرًا يعمل بشكل أبطأ من المعتاد؟ تتطلب هذه الحالة بعض التفكير والتمعن في الأسباب. يكتشف العديد من المستخدمين الذين يواجهون مثل هذه الحالة ويفتحون مراقب النشاط للقيام ببعض الاستطلاع أن عملية تسمى WindowServer تستخدم باستمرار معظم موارد وحدة المعالجة المركزية CPU. في كثير من الحالات يحدث هذا الثقل في النظام مع استهلاك عالي للذاكرة بشكل غير طبيعي. يبدو أن هذا الخطأ لا ينجو من عمليات إعادة تشغيل نظام Mac، ولكن هذا الإجراء له تأثير قصير الأمد وستظهر المشكلة مرة أخرى في النهاية. من الجدير بالذكر أن الخطأ المتعلق بـ WindowServer غالبًا ما يتم ملاحظته جنبًا إلى جنب مع استهلاك وحدة المعالجة المركزية CPU غير المقسمة من خلال العمليات التالية: nsurlsessiond و mdnsresponder و mds_stores و hidd و trustd و syslogd.

WindowServer و nsurlsessiond وعمليات أخرى تستخدم الكثير من وحدة المعالجة المركزية على CPU نظام Mac

إذن، ما هو WindowServer في جهاز Mac؟ ولماذا يرتفع استخدام وحدة المعالجة المركزية CPU من أن لآخر؟ لنحاول أن نكتشف الأمر. أولاً، إليك بعض المعلومات حول هذا الأمر: WindowServer عبارة عن مجموعة من الخدمات المكلفة بإدارة النوافذ. يتم تعريفه أيضًا على أنه محرك تكوين مسؤول عن عكس سلوك التطبيق على شاشة جهاز Mac. تقع عملية macOS الأساسية بين البرامج التي تقوم بتشغيلها ومظاهرها الرسومية التي تراها على الشاشة. يقوم بالعمل بمجرد تسجيل الدخول ويتوقف عن العمل بمجرد تسجيل الخروج. عندما تستخدم تطبيقًا أو تتصفح الويب عبر متصفحك أو تشاهد إعلانًا عبر الإنترنت أو تلعب لعبة فإن WindowServer هو الكيان الذي يمكّنك من عرض كل هذا بالكامل بشكل ديناميكي. وبالتالي فهو عنصر نظام مهم للغاية وغير ضار. هذا لا يعني أنه يعمل بشكل سليم في جميع الأوقات./p>

يرتبط أحد السيناريوهات التي تم الإبلاغ عنها على نطاق واسع حيث يستهلك WindowServer الكثير من وحدة المعالجة المركزية وذاكرة الوصول العشوائي بتوصيل شاشة خارجية بجهاز Mac. من المرجح أن يحدث ذلك إذا كانت شاشة بدقة 4K. كما يلاحظ الكثير من المستخدمين الخطأ بعد تمكين دقة متدرجة على شاشة Retina. يمكن أن يكون التشغيل غير السليم لتأثيرات الشفافية سببًا آخر للنشاط غير المرغوب فيه. يشير هذا التداخل في العوامل إلى أن المشكلة قد تبدأ عندما تصبح عملية عرض الرسومات العادية أكثر تعقيدًا بسبب إعداد محدد وتعديلات الدقة والأبعاد. يواجه بعض المستخدمين هذه المشكلة بعد التحديث إلى macOS Catalina 10.15 ، الإصدار الحالي من نظام تشغيل Apple. في المعتاد لا ينبغي ملاحظة خلل كهذا في أي من الحالتين، ولكنه غالباً ما يكون موجوداً ويحتاج إلى إصلاح فوري. يعمل الجهاز المصاب لفترة طويلة ويعمل بشكل أبطأ مما ينبغي. أحياناً يؤدي النشاط ذو الخطأ إلى مشكلة كبيرة، ويؤدي إلى حالة يتعطل فيها جهاز Mac ولا يمكن للمستخدم إعادته إلى المسار الصحيح بسهولة.

كما هو مذكور أعلاه، غالبًا ما تحدث مشلكة الاستخدام العالي لوحدة المعالجة المركزية (CPU) من قبل WindowServer كجزء من مجموعة أكثر إثارة للقلق. إذا توجهت إلى أدوات المساعدة وقمت بتشغيل مراقب النشاط، فقد تلاحظ العديد من العمليات الأخرى التي تستهلك بشكل جماعي الجزء الأكبر من موارد وحدة المعالجة المركزية. إليك وصفًا موجزًا لهذه الكيانات التي قد تتحول إلى مشاكل تصيب وحدة المعالجة المركزية فجأة:

  • Nsurlsessiond. هي عملية متضمنة في مزامنة صور مستخدم جهاز Mac وجهات الاتصال والبيانات الأخرى مع خادم iCloud.
  • Mdnsresponder. هذه الخدمة عبارة عن خدمة شبكات ذات تكوين صفري تسمح لأجهزة Apple بتحديد بعضها البعض على نفس الشبكة ومشاركة المحتوى مثل مكتبات iTunes. Mdnsresponder أحد مكونات ما يسمى ببروتوكول Bonjour.
  • Mds_stores. هو أحد مكونات خاصية بحث Spotlight. تتمثل إحدى وظائفه في فهرسة الملفات المخزنة على جهاز Mac.
  • Hidd. يشير الاختصار إلى "برنامج جهاز ذو واجهة بشرية". يتمثل دوره في تفسير جميع الأحداث المرتبطة باستخدام الماوس ولوحة المفاتيح.
  • Trustd. برنامج يدير الشهادات الرقمية ويتحقق منها للتأكد من أن العمليات الجارية موقعة برمز ويمكن الوثوق بها. كما يتحقق أيضًا مما إذا كانت مواقع الويب تقوم بتشفير الاتصال ويتحقق من كونها آمنة للزيارة.
  • Syslogd. يقوم بصيانة سجلات النظام. يقوم من بين أشياء أخرى بضغط هذه السجلات لتحسين حجمها والتأكد من أنها لا تشغل مساحة كبيرة على القرص.

يوجد جانب منفصل تمامًا لاستخدام وحدة المعالجة المركزية لنظام التشغيل Mac غير الطبيعي بواسطة WindowServer والعمليات المذكورة أعلاه في منطقة الأمان. قد تكون هذه الأخطاء هي الطريقة التي تشير بها بعض أنواع البرامج الضارة إلى وجودها على جهاز كمبيوتر Mac. ليس من المرجح أن يقوم مجرمو الإنترنت باختبارات مكثفة لشفراتهم الضارة، مما قد يؤدي إلى حدوث أعطال عند اختراق النظام وراء الكواليس. من المعروف أيضًا أن تطبيقات البرامج المدعومة إعلامياً التي تستهدف متصفحات الويب تهدر الكثير من موارد وحدة المعالجة المركزية عن طريق زيادة العبء على خدمات أجهزة نظام تشغيل macOS المشروعة. لذلك فإنه إذا تم استنفاد قوة معالجة الكمبيوتر بشكل دائم من خلال العمليات الموضحة في هذه التعليمات، فإن التحقق من وجود نشاط ضار لا يقل أهمية عن العثور على أعطال النظام العادية ومعالجتها.

الإزالة اليدوية للفيروسات التي تسبب مشكلة الاستخدام العالي من قبل WindowServer لوحدة المعالجة المركزية CPU

الخطوات المذكورة أدناه سوف ترشدك أثناء عملية إزالة هذا التطبيق الضار. تأكد من اتباع التعليمات بالترتيب المذكور.

  1. قم بفتح قائمة الانتقال إلى في شريط Finder الخاص بجهاز Mac الخاص بك واختر أدوات المساعدة كما هو موضح أدناه.

    انتقل إلى أدوات المساعدة

  2. قم بتحديد أيقونة مراقب النشاط في شاشة أدوات المساعدة وانقر عليها مرتين.

    اختر مراقب النشاط

  3. ابحث في تطبيق مراقب النشاط عن عملية تبدو مريبة. لتضييق نطاق البحث، ركز على الإدخالات غير المألوفة كثيفة الموارد في القائمة. ضع في اعتبارك أن اسمه لا يرتبط بالضرورة بالطريقة التي قد يقوم بها التهديد، لذلك ستحتاج إلى الثقة في حكمك الخاص على العملية. إذا حددت العملية المشتبه بها، قم باختيارها وانقر على رمز إيقاف في الزاوية العلوية اليسرى من الشاشة.

    قم بإيقاف العملية الضار

  4. عندما يفتح نافذة متابعة تسألك عما إذا كنت متأكداً من رغبتك في إنهاء العملية الضارة، قم باختيار فرض الإنهاء.

    حدد خيار فرض الإنهاء

  5. انقر على أيقونة قائمة انتقال إلى في Finder مرة أخرى واختر الانتقال إلى مجلد. يمكنك أيضاً استخدام اختصار أمر-Shift-G من لوحة المفاتيح.

    استخدم خاصية انتقال إلى  مجلد

  6. اكتب /المكتبة/LaunchAgents في نافذة البحث عن مجلد وانقر على زرالانتقال إلى

    افتح /المكتبة/مجلد LaunchAgents

  7. افحص محتويات مجلد LaunchAgents بحثاً عن عناصر تبدو مريبة. يرجى العلم بأن أسماء الملفات التي تنتجها البرامج الضارة قد لا تعطي أي أدلة واضحة على أنها ضارة، لذلك يجب عليك البحث عن الكيانات المُضافة حديثًا والتي يبدو أنها تختلف عن المعتاد.

    كمثال توضيحي على ذلك، إليك بعض الأمثلة على LaunchAgents المتعلقة بالعدوى الشائعة في أجهزة Mac المصابة: com.pcv.hlpramc.plist، com.updater.mcy.plist، com.avickUpd.plist و، com.msp.agent.plist. إذا قمت بالعثور على ملفات لا تنتمي إلى القائمة، فقم بوضعها في المهملات.

    محتويات مجلد LaunchAgents في مستوى الروت

  8. استخدم خاصية البحث لالإنتقال إلى مجلد مرة أخرى للانتقال إلى المجلد المسمى ~/المكتبة/Application Support (لاحظ رمز لتقريب المضاف إلى المسار) .

    افتح ~/المكتبة/مجلد Application Support

  9. عند فتح دليل Application Support (دعم التطبيق)، حدد المجلدات المشتبه بها والتي تم إنشاؤها مؤخراً وقم بإرسلها إلى المهملات. نصيحة سريعة قم بالبحث عن العناصر التي لا تتعلق أسماءها بمنتجات Apple أو التطبيقات التي لا تتعلق بالتي قمت بتثبيتها عن علم. بعض الأمثلة على أسماء المجلدات المعروفة بكونها ضارة UtilityParze، ProgressSite، و IdeaShared.

    محتويات مجلد Application Support

  10. ادخل ~/المكتبة/LaunchAgents (لا تنسى وضع علامة التقريب) في مكان البحث الخاص بالانتقال إلى مجل

    افتح ~/المكتبة/دليل LaunchAgents

  11. سيقوم النظام بعرض LaunchAgents الموجودة في دليل الصفحة الرئيسية للمستخدم الحالي. ابحث عن عناصر مراوغة لها علاقة بفيروس إعادة التوجيه لمحرك البحث (انظر السبب المُوضح في الأقسام الفرعية أعلاه) وقم بوضع العناصر المشتبه بها في المهملات.

    محتويات مجلد LaunchAgents دليل الصفحة الرئيسية للمستخدم الحالي

  12. اكتب /المكتبة/LaunchDaemons في مكان البحث الخاص بالإنتقال إلى مجلد

    انتقل إلى /المكتبة/LaunchDaemons

  13. في مسار LaunchDaemons، حاول تحديد الملفات التي تستخدمها البرامج الضارة للبقاء. العديد من الأمثلة على هذه العناصر التي تظهر من قبل أجهزة Mac المُصابة منها com.pplauncher.plist, com.startup.plist, وcom.ExpertModuleSearchDaemon.plist. احذف الملفات المريبة على الفور.

    محتويات مجلد LaunchDaemons

  14. انقر على أيقونة قائمة انتقال إلى في Finder الخاص بجهاز Mac الخاص بك واختر التطبيقات من القائمة.

    انتقال إلى شاشة التطبيقات في جهاز Mac

  15. ابحث عن الإدخال الخاص بتطبيق لا ينتمي بشكل واضح إلى المكان وانقله إلى المهملات. إذا كان هذا الإجراء يتطلب كلمة مرور المسؤول الخاصة بك للتأكيد، فقم بالمتابعة وأدخلها.

    قم بوضع التطبيق الضار في المهملات

  16. افتح قائمة Apple واختر تفضيلات النظام.

    افتح تفضيلات النظام

  17. انتقل إلى المستخدمين والمجموعات وانقر على علامة عناصر الدخول.

    انتقل إلى المستخدمين والمجموعات

    سيعرض النظام قائمة العناصر التي يتم تشغيلها عند بدء تشغيل الكمبيوتر. حدد التطبيق الغير مرغوب فيه هناك وانقر على زر "-" (ناقص) .

    امسح عناصر الدخول الغير مرغوب به

  18. الآن اختر ملفات التعريف من تفضيلات النظام. ابحث عن عنصر ضار في الشريط الجانبي الأيسر. عدة أمثلة على ملفات التعريف التي تم إنشاؤها بواسطة Mac adware تتضمن TechSignalSearch, MainSearchPlatform, AdminPrefs, و Chrome Settings حدد الكيان الضار وانقر على علامة ناقص في الأسفل للتخلّص منه.

    حدد توصيفات تحت تفضيلات النظام

    قم بإزالة ملف التعريف الضار من جهاز Mac

    إذا تم اختراق جهاز Mac الخاص بك عن طريق برامج الإعلانات، فمن المرجح أن تستمر الإصابة في التأثير على متصفح الويب الافتراضي حتى بعد إزالة التطبيق الأساسي و إزالة مكوناته المنتشرة في أنحاء النظام. استخدم تعليمات تنظيف المتصفح أدناه لمعالجة النتائج المتبقية من هذا الهجوم.

تخلص من البرامج الضارة كثيفة الاستخدام للموارد في متصفح الويب على نظام Mac

أولاً، يجب إعادة إعدادات متصفح الويب التي استولى عليها فيروس [VIRUSNAME] إلى القيم الافتراضية. على الرغم من أن هذا سيؤدي إلى مسح معظم التخصيصات وسجل تصفح الويب، وجميع البيانات المؤقتة المُخزنة بواسطة مواقع الويب الخاصة بك، إلا أنه يجب إنهاء الاختراق الضار أيضاً. فيما يلي نظرة عامة على الخطوات لإكمال هذا الإجراء:

  1. إزالة البرامج الضارة في Safari
    • افتح المتصفح وانتقل إلى قائمة Safari اختر تفضيلات من القائمة

      انتقل إلى تفضيلات في سفاري

    • بمجرد ظهور شاشة التفضيلات، انقر على علامة تبويب متقدم وقم بتمكين خيار "إظهار قائمة التطوير في شريط القائمة".

      علامة تبويب متقدم من تفضيلات Safari

    • الآن بعد أن تمت إضافة إدخال التطوير إلى قائمة Safari، قم بفتحها وانقر على إفراغ الذاكرة المؤقتة.

      إفراغ الذاكرة المؤقتة في Safari

    • الآن اختر سجل التاريخ من قائمة Safari وانقر على مسح سجل التاريخ من القائمة المدرجة.

      مسح سجل التاريخ في Safari

    • سيعرض Safari نافذة تطلب منك تحديد الفترة الزمنية التي سيُنطبق عليها هذا الإجراء. اختر كل سجل التاريخ لضمان أفضل تأثير. انقر على زر مسح سجل التاريخ للتأكيد والخروج.

      اختر مسح كل سجل التاري

    • ارجع إلى تفضيلات Safari وانقر على علامة الخصوصية في الأعلى. انقر على خيار إدارة بيانات موقع الويب.

      خيار إدارة بيانات موقع الويب من علامة الخصوصي

    • سيعرض المتصفح شاشة متابعة تسرد مواقع الويب التي قامت بتخزين بيانات حول أنشطة الإنترنت الخاصة بك. تتضمن نافذة الشاشة أيضاً وصفاً موجزاً لما تفعله الإزالة: إزالة البيانات قد يحد من التعقب ولكن قد يؤدي أيضاً إلى تسجيل الخروج من مواقع الويب أو تغيير سلوك مواقع الويب. إذا كنت توافق على هذا، انقر على زر إزالة الكل.

      نافذة التأكي

    • أعد تشغيل متصفح سفاري (Safari).
  2. تخلص من الفيروسات في Google Chrome
    • افتح متصفح Chrome، وانقر على أيقونة تخصيص والتحكم في جوجل كروم (⁝) في الجزء العلوي الأيمن من النافذة واختر الإعدادات من القائمة المدرجة.

      إعدادات Chrome

    • من الإعدادات، اختر الإعدادات المتقدمة.
    • انتقل لأسفل عند خيار إعادة ضبط الإعدادات.

      إعادة ضبط الإعدادات في Chrome على Mac

    • قم بالتأكيد على خيار إعادة تعيين Chrome من النافذة التي ستظهر. عند إتمام الإجراء، أعد تشغيل المتصفح وتحقق من وجود نشاط البرامج الضارة.

      إليك كيفية إعادة تعيين الإعدادات في متصفح Chrome في جهاز Mac

  3. أوقف النشاط الضار في Mozilla Firefox
    • افتح متصفح Firefox وانتقل إلى مساعدة - معلومات مواجهة الأعطال (أو اكتب about:support في شريط URL وانقر زر Enter)

      افتح Firefox وانتقل إلى Help

      حدد معلومات استكشاف الأخطاء وإصلاحها

    • من شاشة معلومات مواجهة الأعطال، انقر على زر أنعش Firefox

      قم بتحديث Firefox على جهاز Mac

    • قم بالتأكيد على التغييرات المقصودة وأعد تشغيل متصفح Firefox.

استخدم الأداة الأوتوماتيكية لإصلاح مشكلة WindowServer في جهاز Mac

يُعدCombo Cleaner تطبيق الصيانة والأمان لأجهزة Mac أداةً شاملة للكشف عن فيروس Safe Finder والقيام بإزالته. هذه التقنية لها فوائد عظيمة عند التنظيف اليدوي، لأن الأداة تقوم بالحصول على تحديثات تعريف الفيروسات كل ساعة ويمكنها تحديد أحدث الإصابات التي تُصيب أجهزة Mac بدقة.

ومن ناحية آخرى، سيجد الحل التلقائي الملفات الأساسية للبرامج الضارة في عمق بنية وتكوين النظام، والتي قد تمثل تحدياً في تحديد موقعها. في ما يلي شرح تفصيلي لحل مشكلة فيروس WindowServer باستخدام Combo Cleaner:

  1. قم بتحميل مُثبّت Combo Cleaner. عند انتهاء التحميل، انقر مرتين على ملف combocleaner.dmg واتبع التعليمات لتثبيت الأداة على جهاز Mac الخاص بك.

    قم بتحميل مُثبّت Combo Cleaner

    عند تنزيل أي تطبيقات يُوصى بها على هذا الموقع، فإنك توافق على الشروط والأحكام وسياسة الخصوصية. يقوم ماسح الفيروسات المجاني بالتحقق مما إذا كان جهاز Mac مصاباً بالفيروس. للتخلص من البرامج الضارة، تحتاج إلى شراء الإصدار المميز من برنامج Combo Cleaner.
  2. افتح التطبيق من Launchpad الخاص بك ودعه يقوم بعمل تحديث لقاعدة بيانات توقيع البرامج الضارة للتأكد من أن بإمكانه تحديد أحدث التهديدات.
  3. انقر على زر ابدأ فحص Combo لفحص جهاز Mac الخاص بك بحثاً عن أي نشاط ضار أومشكلات في الأداء.

    تقدم مسح Combo Cleaner Mac

  4. افحص نتائج الفحص. إذا كان التقرير يقول "لا توجد تهديدات"، فأنت على الطريق الصحيح مع التنظيف اليدوي ويمكنك المتابعة بأمان لترتيب متصفح الويب الذي قد يستمر في التصرف بنفس الشكل بسبب الآثار اللاحقة لهجوم البرامج الضارة (انظر التعليمات أعلاه) .

    تقرير مسح Combo Cleaner - لم يتم العثور على تهديدات

  5. في حالة اكتشاف Combo Cleaner لكود خاص ببرامج ضارة، انقر على زر إزالة العناصر المحددة واجعل الأداة تقوم بإزالة تهديد فيروس WindowServer إلى جانب أي فيروسات أو PUPs (برامج غير مرغوب فيها) أو ملفات غير مهمة لا تنتمي إلى جهاز Mac الخاص بك.

    Combo Cleaner – وجدت التهديدات

  6. بمجرد التأكد بشكل مضاعف من إلغاءك لتثبيت التطبيق الضار، فقد تظل عملية العثور على المشاكل وحلّها في المتصفح في قائمة المهام التي عليك القيام بها. إذا تأثر المتصفح المفضل لديك، فقم بالاستعانة بالقسم السابق من هذا البرنامج الإرشادي للعودة إلى تصفح ويب خالي من المتاعب.
70

Was this article helpful? Please, rate this.

There are no comments yet.
Authentication required

You must log in to post a comment.

Log in

Skip to main content

How to fix WindowServer high CPU and memory usage on Mac


This guide explains how to address high CPU usage by WindowServer, nsurlsessiond, mdnsresponder, mds_stores, hidd, trustd, and syslogd processes on Mac.

Slowdown issues are a natural upshot of a Mac starting to age and lacking the resources to support increasingly resource-intensive applications. If the machine’s hardware is upgradeable, one decent workaround is to install more RAM and replace the standard “spinning” storage media with a faster SSD drive. But what if the performance of a brand-new or recently released MacBook, iMac, Mac Pro is running slower than usual? This condition requires some insight into the whys. Many users who run into such a situation and open the Activity Monitor to do some reconnaissance discover that a process named WindowServer is constantly using up most of the CPU resources. In many cases, this drag co-occurs with abnormally high memory consumption. This bug doesn’t appear to survive Mac reboots, but this measure has a short-time effect and the issue eventually re-emerges. It’s worth mentioning that the WindowServer related bug is often observed alongside unproportioned CPU consumption by the following processes: nsurlsessiond, mdnsresponder, mds_stores, hidd, trustd, and syslogd.

WindowServer, nsurlsessiond, and other processes using up too much CPU on Mac

So, what is WindowServer on a Mac? And why does its CPU usage occasionally skyrocket? Let’s try to figure out. First things first, here is some wiki stuff on this matter: WindowServer is a collection of services tasked with window management. It is also defined as a compositing engine responsible for reflecting application behavior on the Mac’s screen. The core macOS process sits in between the programs you run and their graphical manifestation you see on the display. It is executed once you log in and stops running as soon as you log out. Whenever you’re using an app, surfing the web via your browser, seeing an ad online, or playing a game, WindowServer is the entity that enables you to view it all dynamically. Therefore, it is a hugely important and harmless system element. This doesn’t mean that it operates flawlessly at all times, though.

One of the widely reported scenarios where WindowServer consumes too much CPU and RAM is related to connecting an external monitor to a Mac machine. The adverse occurrence is more likely if it’s a 4K monitor. Also, a lot of users notice the bug after enabling a scaled resolution on a Retina display. Improper implementation of transparency effects can be another reason for the unwanted activity. This overlapping of factors suggests that the problem may kick in when the normal graphics rendering process becomes more complex due to a specific set-up and resolution tweaks. Some users bump into the quandary right after updating to macOS Catalina 10.15, the current version of Apple’s operating system. Ideally, a glitch like that shouldn’t be observed in either case, but it’s often there and it needs immediate fixing. The affected machine runs hot for a long time and works slower than it should. Sometimes the buggy activity leads to kernel panics, a condition where the Mac crashes and the user cannot get it back on track easily.

As mentioned above, the WindowServer high CPU usage predicament is often encountered as part of a more unnerving whole. If you head to the Utilities and launch the Activity Monitor, you may notice several more processes collectively consuming the greater part of the central processing unit’s resources. Here’s a brief description these entities that may turn into CPU hogs out of the blue:

  • Nsurlsessiond. This is a process involved in syncing a Mac user’s images, contacts, and other data with the iCloud server.
  • Mdnsresponder. This one is a zero-configuration networking service that allows Apple devices to spot each other on the same network and share content such as iTunes libraries. Mdnsresponder a constituent of the so-called Bonjour protocol.
  • Mds_stores. It’s a component of the Spotlight search feature. One of its functions is to index files stored on the Mac.
  • Hidd. The acronym stands for “human interface device daemon”. Its role is to interpret all the events associated with your mouse and keyboard usage.
  • Trustd. This is a daemon that manages and verifies digital certificates to make sure the running processes are code-signed and can be trusted. It also checks if websites encrypt the connection and are safe to visit.
  • Syslogd. Maintenance of system logs is what the syslogd process does. It performs, among other things, the compression of these logs to optimize their size and make sure they don’t take too much space on disk.

A whole separate facet of abnormal Mac CPU usage by WindowServer and the processes listed above is in the security area. These bugs may be the way some malware strains signal their presence on a Mac computer. Cybercriminals aren’t likely to engage in extensive testing of their harmful code, which could lead to malfunctions when a system is infiltrated behind the scenes. Adware apps that target web browsers are also known to waste a ton of CPU resources by overburdening legitimate macOS services. Therefore, if your computer’s processing power is being permanently exhausted by the processes described in this tutorial, checking it for malicious activity is just as important as finding and tackling regular system malfunctions.


Manual removal of viruses causing WindowServer high CPU usage problem

The steps listed below will walk you through the removal of this malicious application. Be sure to follow the instructions in the specified order.

  1. Expand the Go menu in your Mac’s Finder bar and select Utilities as shown below.

    Go to Utilities

  2. Locate the Activity Monitor icon on the Utilities screen and double-click on it.

    Select the Activity Monitor

  3. In the Activity Monitor app, look for a process that appears suspicious. To narrow down your search, focus on unfamiliar resource-intensive entries on the list. Keep in mind that its name isn’t necessarily related to the way the threat is manifesting itself, so you’ll need to trust your own judgement. If you pinpoint the culprit, select it and click on the Stop icon in the upper left-hand corner of the screen.

    Stop malicious process

  4. When a follow-up dialog pops up asking if you are sure you want to quit the troublemaking process, select the Force Quit option.

    Select the Force Quit option

  5. Click on the Go menu icon in the Finder again and select Go to Folder. You can as well use the Command-Shift-G keyboard shortcut.

    Use the Go to Folder feature

  6. Type /Library/LaunchAgents in the folder search dialog and click on the Go button.

    Open /Library/LaunchAgents folder

  7. Examine the contents of the LaunchAgents folder for dubious-looking items. Be advised that the names of files spawned by malware may give no clear clues that they are malicious, so you should look for recently added entities that appear to deviate from the norm.

    As an illustration, here are several examples of LaunchAgents related to mainstream Mac infections: com.pcv.hlpramc.plist, com.updater.mcy.plist, com.avickUpd.plist, and com.msp.agent.plist. If you spot files that don’t belong on the list, go ahead and drag them to the Trash.

    Root-level LaunchAgents folder contents

  8. Use the Go to Folder lookup feature again to navigate to the folder named ~/Library/Application Support (note the tilde symbol prepended to the path).

    Open ~/Library/Application Support folder

  9. When the Application Support directory is opened, identify recently generated suspicious folders in it and send them to the Trash. A quick tip is to look for items whose names have nothing to do with Apple products or apps you knowingly installed. A few examples of known-malicious folder names are UtilityParze, LinkBranch, SystemSpecial, and IdeaShared.

    Application Support folder contents

  10. Enter ~/Library/LaunchAgents string (don’t forget to include the tilde character) in the Go to Folder search area.

    Open ~/Library/LaunchAgents directory

  11. The system will display LaunchAgents residing in the current user’s Home directory. Look for dodgy items related to the virus (see logic highlighted in subsections above) and drag the suspects to the Trash.

    Contents of LaunchAgents folder in user’s home directory

  12. Type /Library/LaunchDaemons in the Go to Folder search field.

    Go to /Library/LaunchDaemons

  13. In the LaunchDaemons path, try to pinpoint the files the malware is using for persistence. Several examples of such items cropped by Mac infections are com.pplauncher.plist, com.startup.plist, and com.ExpertModuleSearchDaemon.plist. Delete the sketchy files immediately.

    LaunchDaemons folder contents

  14. Click on the Go menu icon in your Mac’s Finder and select Applications on the list.

    Go to Applications screen on Mac

  15. Find the entry for an app that clearly doesn’t belong there and move it to the Trash. If this action requires your admin password for confirmation, go ahead and enter it.

    Drag malicious app to the Trash

  16. Expand the Apple menu and select System Preferences.

    Select System Preferences

    Open System Preferences

  17. Proceed to Users & Groups and click on the Login Items tab.

    Proceed to Users & Groups

    The system will display the list of items launched when the computer is starting up. Locate the potentially unwanted app there and click on the “-” (minus) button.

    Delete unwanted login item

  18. Now select Profiles under System Preferences. Look for a malicious item in the left-hand sidebar. Several examples of configuration profiles created by Mac adware include TechSignalSearch, MainSearchPlatform, AdminPrefs, and Chrome Settings. Select the offending entity and click on the minus sign at the bottom to eliminate it.

    Select Profiles under System Preferences

    Remove malicious configuration profile from Mac

    If your Mac has been infiltrated by adware, the infection will most likely continue to hold sway over your default web browser even after you remove the underlying application along with its components sprinkled around the system. Use the browser cleanup instructions below to address the remaining consequences of this attack.

Get rid of resource-intensive malware in web browser on Mac

To begin with, the web browser settings taken over by the virus exploiting WindowServer process should be restored to their default values. Although this will clear most of your customizations, web surfing history, and all temporary data stored by websites, the malicious interference should be terminated likewise. The overview of the steps for completing this procedure is as follows:

  1. Remove malware in Safari
    • Open the browser and go to Safari menu. Select Preferences in the drop-down list

      Go to Preferences in Safari

    • Once the Preferences screen appears, click on the Advanced tab and enable the option saying “Show Develop menu in menu bar”.

      Advanced tab under Safari Preferences

    • Now that the Develop entry has been added to the Safari menu, expand it and click on Empty Caches.

      Empty Caches in Safari

    • Now select History in the Safari menu and click on Clear History in the drop-down list.

      Clear history in Safari

    • Safari will display a dialog asking you to specify the period of time this action will apply to. Select all history to ensure a maximum effect. Click on the Clear History button to confirm and exit.

      Select all history to clear

    • Go back to the Safari Preferences and hit the Privacy tab at the top. Find the option that says Manage Website Data and click on it.

      Manage Website Data option under Privacy tab

    • The browser will display a follow-up screen listing the websites that have stored data about your Internet activities. This dialog additionally includes a brief description of what the removal does: you may be logged out of some services and encounter other changes of website behavior after the procedure. If you’re okay with that, go ahead and click on the Remove All button.

      Confirmation dialog

    • Restart Safari
  2. Get rid of viruses in Google Chrome
    • Open Chrome, click the Customize and control Google Chrome (⁝) icon in the top right-hand part of the window, and select Settings in the drop-down

      Chrome Settings

    • When on the Settings pane, select Advanced
    • Scroll down to the Reset settings section.

      Reset settings in Chrome on Mac

    • Confirm the Chrome reset on a dialog that will pop up. When the procedure is completed, relaunch the browser and check it for malware activity.

      Here’s how to reset settings in Chrome on Mac

  3. Stop malicious activity in Mozilla Firefox
    • Open Firefox and go to Help – Troubleshooting Information (or type about:support in the URL bar and press Enter).

      Open Firefox and go to Help

      Select Troubleshooting Information

    • When on the Troubleshooting Information screen, click on the Refresh Firefox button.

      Refresh Firefox on Mac

    • Confirm the intended changes and restart Firefox.

Use automatic tool to fix the WindowServer Mac issue

The Mac maintenance and security app called Combo Cleaner is a one-stop tool to detect and remove malware causing WindowServer high CPU usage. This technique has substantial benefits over manual cleanup, because the utility gets hourly virus definition updates and can accurately spot even the newest Mac infections.

Furthermore, the automatic solution will find the core files of the malware deep down the system structure, which might otherwise be a challenge to locate. Here’s a walkthrough to sort out the WindowServer issue using Combo Cleaner:

  1. Download Combo Cleaner installer. When done, double-click the combocleaner.dmg file and follow the prompts to install the tool onto your Mac.

    Download Combo Cleaner

    By downloading any applications recommended on this website you agree to our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy. The free scanner checks whether your Mac is infected. To get rid of malware, you need to purchase the Premium version of Combo Cleaner.

  2. Open the app from your Launchpad and let it run the update of malware signature database to make sure it can identify the latest threats.
  3. Click the Start Combo Scan button to check your Mac for malicious activity as well as performance issues.

    Combo Cleaner Mac scan progress

  4. Examine the scan results. If the report says “No Threats”, then you are on the right track with the manual cleaning and can safely proceed to tidy up the web browser that may continue to act up due to the after-effects of the malware attack (see instructions above).

    Combo Cleaner scan report – no threats found

  5. In case Combo Cleaner has detected malicious code, click the Remove Selected Items button and have the utility remove WindowServer CPU usage threat along with any other viruses, PUPs (potentially unwanted programs), or junk files that don’t belong on your Mac.

    Combo Cleaner – threats found

  6. Once you have made doubly sure that the malicious app is uninstalled, the browser-level troubleshooting might still be on your to-do list. If your preferred browser is affected, resort to the previous section of this tutorial to revert to hassle-free web surfing.

14

Was this article helpful? Please, rate this.

There are no comments yet.
Authentication required

You must log in to post a comment.

Log in