Skip to main content

如何在 Mac 電腦修復 WindowServer 高 CPU 及記憶體用量

本指引介紹在 Mac 電腦利用 WindowServer、nsurlsessiond、mdnsresponder、mds_stores、hidd、trustd 以及 syslogd 進程解決 CPU 用量過高的問題。

速度下降問題是 Mac 電腦日漸老化且缺乏資源支援資源需求不斷增長的應用程式的自然結果。倘機器硬體可升級,則有一種很好的解決方法:安裝更多的 RAM,並以更快的 SSD 固態硬碟代替標準「機械型」存儲媒介。然而,倘為全新或最近發行的 MacBook、iMac、Mac Pro 的性能較平常慢呢?這種情況需要進一步瞭解原因。很多遇到這種狀況並打開「活動監視器」的使用者發現,名為 WindowServer 的進程一直在消耗大量 CPU 資源。在多種情況下,這種具有不正常記憶體消耗的阻礙時有發生。這一錯誤不會在 Mac 重新啟動後繼續存在,但這一措施會在短期內產生影響,而該問題最終會再次出現。值得一提的是,WindowServer 的相關錯誤以及不成比例的 CPU 消耗,可透過以下進程實現:nsurlsessiondmdnsrespondermds_storeshiddtrustd 以及 syslogd

WindowServer、nsurlsessiond 以及其他在 Mac 電腦過量使用 CPU 用量的其他進程

因此,在 Mac 電腦使用的 WindowServer 是什麼?還有,為什麼 CPU 用量會飛速上升?我們來找出答案吧。首先,這裏是有關這一問題的部分 wiki 內容:WindowServer 是負責窗口管理的服務組合。這亦被定義為一項負責在 Mac 電腦的螢幕反映應用程式行為的合成引擎。MacOS 核心進程就在您運行的程式與您在顯示螢幕看到的圖形化表現之間。命令在您登入後即會執行,並在退出後立即停止運作。無論您何時使用應用程式,使用瀏覽工具瀏覽網頁、觀看線上廣告或是玩遊戲,WindowServer 都是讓您以動態方式觀看所有內容的工具。因此,這是極其重要且無害的系統元素。然而,這並不意味著可以一直運作。

一種 WindowServer 消耗過多 CPU 和 RAM 被廣泛報導的方案,與正在與 Mac 電腦連線的外部監測器有關。如為 4K 顯示器,則更有可能發生不良狀況。同樣,大量使用者注意到在 Retina 螢幕啟用縮放分辨率後出現該錯誤。不當使用透明效果會是出現意外活動的另一個重要原因。這些因素的交叉表明,當正常圖形繪製處理因為特定設定和解析度的調整變得更為複雜時,即開始出現該問題。部分使用者在將 Apple 作業系統更新至現有 macOS Catalina 10.15 後立即陷入困境。理想情況是,任何一種情況都不應觀察得類似故障,然而,這種故障經常出現,而且需要立即修復。受影響電腦在運行時會長時間發熱,且運行速度較正常情況慢。有時很小的活動引致內核錯誤,這是 Mac 當機以及使用者無法輕鬆令電腦回復正常運作的一種狀況。

如上所述,WindowServer 高 CPU 用量的困境通常是作為全部麻煩的一部分而出現。如您前往「工具程式」的「活動監視器」,您會留意到更多進程一同消耗大部分中央處理元件的大部分資源。這些部分會突然變成 CPU 資源豬,以下是各部分的描述:

  • Nsurlsessiond.這是一項涉及將 Mac 使用者、圖檔、聯繫人以及其他資料與 iCloud 伺服器同步的進程。
  • Mdnsresponder.這是一項零配置的網路服務,讓 Apple 設備在同一網路相互識別並共享諸如 iTunes 資料庫的內容。Mdnsresponder 是被稱為 Bonjour 的協議的組成部分。
  • Mds_stores.這是 Spotlight 搜尋功能的組成部分。其功能之一是為存儲在 Mac 的文檔加入索引。
  • Hidd.該首字母縮寫意為「人體學接口設備」。其作用為解釋您的滑鼠與鍵盤使用相關的所有事件。
  • Trustd.這是一項用於管理及驗證數位證書的守護行程,以確保正在運行的進程為代碼簽名且可信任。該進程還會檢查網站是否對連接予以加密並且可以安全造訪。
  • Syslogd.維護系統日誌為 syslogd 進程的功能。該進程執行這些日誌的壓縮,以將其容量最佳化,並保證這些日誌不會在磁碟中佔據過多空間。

WindowServer 以及上述進程對 Mac CPU 異常使用的整個方面都位於安全區域內。這些錯誤可能是部分惡意軟體在 Mac 電腦發出顯示他們存在的訊號。網路犯罪者不太可能對有害代碼作廣泛測試,當系統在後台滲透時,這會引致故障。眾所周知,針對 Web 瀏覽工具的廣告軟體應用程式會為合法的 macOS 服務增加負擔以浪費大量 CPU 資源。因此,倘本教材所述進程讓電腦處理能力永久枯竭,則檢查電腦是否存在惡意活動,與尋找及解決常規系統故障同等重要。

手動清除引致 WindowServer 高 CPU 用量問題的病毒

以下列出的步驟將引導您刪除該惡意應用程式。

  1. 展開Mac的Finder欄中的“前往”菜單,然後選擇“工具程式”,如下所示。

    前往“工具程式”

  2. 在“工具程式”屏幕上找到“活動監視器”圖標,然後雙擊。

    選擇“活動監視器”

  3. 在“活動監視器”應用程式中,查找看似可疑的進程。若·縮小搜索範圍,則需關注列表上不熟悉的資源密集型條目。請記住,其名稱不一定與威脅顯現的方式相關,因此您需要相信自己的判斷。如果您查明了問題的罪魁禍首,點擊選擇,然後單擊屏幕左上角的“停止”圖標。

    停止惡意進程

  4. 後續對話框彈出,並詢問您是否確定要結束故障排除過程時,請選擇“強制結束”選項。

    Select the Force Quit option

  5. 再次單擊Finder中的“前往”菜單圖標,然後選擇“前往資料夾”。您也可以使用Command-Shift-G鍵盤快捷鍵。

    使用前往資料夾功能

  6. 在文件夾搜索對話框中輸入/ 資源庫 / LaunchAgents,然後單擊“前往”按鍵。

    打開/資料庫 / LaunchAgents資料夾

  7. 檢查LaunchAgents資料夾內是否有可疑的項目。請注意,由惡意軟件生成的文件名稱可能無法提供說明它們是惡意軟件的明確線索,

    以下是與主流Mac感染相關的幾個LaunchAgents示例:com.pcv.hlpramc.plistcom.updater.mcy.plistcom.avickUpd.plistcom.msp.agent.plist。如果發現不屬於列表的文件,請繼續將其拖至垃圾桶。

    根級別LaunchAgents資料夾內容

  8. 再次使用“前往資料夾”的查找導航功能,並在搜索字段中輸入〜/ 資源庫 / Application Support的資料夾(請注意路徑前的波浪符號)。

    打開〜/ 資源庫 / Application Support資料夾

  9. 打開“Application Support”目錄時,請在其中識別最近生成的可疑資料夾,並將它們發送到“垃圾桶”。快速提示是查找名稱與您故意安裝的Apple產品或應用程式無關的項目。已知的部分惡意資料夾名稱示例有UtilityParzeProgressSiteIdeaShared

    “Application Support資料夾內容

  10. 在“前往資料夾” 搜索字段中輸入〜/ 資源庫 / LaunchAgents字符串(不要忘記添加波浪符號)。

    打開〜/ 資源庫 / LaunchAgents目錄

  11. 系統將顯示當前用戶主目錄中的LaunchAgent。查找與病毒相關的可疑項目(請參閱上方小節中突出顯示的邏輯),然後將可疑對象拖到垃圾桶。

    用戶主目錄中LaunchAgents資料夾的內容

  12. 在“前往資料夾”搜索字段中鍵入/ 資源庫 / LaunchDaemons

    前往/ 資源庫 / LaunchDaemons

  13. 在LaunchDaemons路徑中,嘗試查明惡意軟件使用的持久性文件。部分Mac感染示例包括com.pplauncher.plistcom.startup.plistcom.ExpertModuleSearchDaemon.plist。 立即刪除可疑文件。

    LaunchDaemons資料夾內容

  14. 單擊Mac的Finder中的“前往”菜單圖標,然後在列表中選擇“應用程式”。

    在Mac中前往“應用程式”屏幕

  15. 找到顯然不屬於該應用程式的條目,然後將其移至垃圾桶。如果此操作需要輸入管理員密碼進行確認,請繼續輸入管理員密碼。

    將惡意應用拖到垃圾桶

  16. 展開Apple菜單,然後選擇“系統偏好設定”。

    Select System Preferences

    打開系統偏好設定

  17. 轉至“用戶與組群”,然後單擊“登錄項目”選項卡。

    Proceed to Users & Groups

    系統將顯示計算機啟動時的啟動項目列表。 在此處找到可能不需要的應用程序,然後單擊“-”(減號)按鍵。

    刪除不需要的登錄項

  18. 現在,在“系統偏好設定置”下選擇“描述檔”。在左側邊欄中查找惡意項目。Mac廣告軟件創建的部分配置文件示例包括TechSignalSearchMainSearchPlatform、,AdminPrefsChrome設定。選擇有問題的條目,然後單擊底部的減號,將其消除。

    Select Profiles under System Preferences

    從Mac刪除惡意配置文件

    如果您的Mac已被廣告軟件滲透,那麼即使您刪除了底層應用程序及其周圍散佈的組件,感染也很可能會繼續在默認的Web瀏覽器中佔據主導地位。使用下方的瀏覽器清除說明來進一步解決此攻擊的遺留後果。

在 Mac 電腦的 Web 瀏覽器清除大量消耗資源的惡意軟體

首先,應將被利用 WindowServer 進程的病毒控制的瀏覽工具恢復為預設值。儘管這將清除您的大多數自定義設置,網絡瀏覽歷史記錄以及網站存儲的所有臨時數據,但惡意干擾也應同樣終止。 完成此過程的步驟概述如下:

  1. 在Safari中删除恶意软件
    • 打開瀏覽器,然後轉到Safari菜單。 在下拉列表中選擇首選項。

      在Safari中轉到“偏好設置”

    • 出現“首選項”屏幕後,單擊“高級”選項卡,然後啟用選項“在菜單欄中顯示開髮菜單”。

      “ Safari偏好設置”下的“高級”標籤

    • 現在,“開發”條目已添加到Safari菜單中,將其展開並單擊“空緩存”。.

      Safari中的空緩存

    • 現在,在Safari菜單中選擇“歷史記錄”,然後在下拉列表中單擊“清除歷史記錄”

      清除Safari中的歷史記錄

    • Safari將顯示一個對話框,要求您指定此操作將應用的時間。 選擇所有歷史記錄以確保發揮最大作用。 單擊清除歷史記錄按鈕以確認並退出。

      選擇所有歷史記錄以清除

    • 返回Safari偏好設置,然後點擊頂部的“隱私”標籤。 找到顯示“管理網站數據”的選項,然後單擊它。

      “隱私”選項卡下的“管理網站數據”選項

    • 瀏覽器將顯示一個後續屏幕,列出存儲了有關Internet活動數據的網站。 此對話框還簡要說明了刪除操作:在執行此步驟後,您可能會退出某些服務並遇到網站行為的其他變化。 如果可以的話,請繼續並點擊全部刪除按鈕。

      “確認”對話框

    • 重新啟動Safari。
  2. 摆脱Google Chrome中的病毒
    • 打開Chrome,點擊窗口右上角的自定義和控制Google Chrome圖標,然後在下拉菜單中選擇設置。

       打開Chrome,點擊窗口右上角的自定義和控制Google Chrome圖標,然後在下拉菜單中選擇設置。

    • 在“設置”窗格上時,選擇“高級”。
    • 向下滾動到“重置設置”部分。

       向下滾動到“重置設置”部分。

    • 在彈出的對話框中確認Chrome重置。 該過程完成後,重新啟動瀏覽器並檢查其是否存在惡意軟件活動。

      這是在Mac上的Chrome中重置設置的方法

  3. 阻止Mozilla Firefox中的恶意活动
    • 打開Firefox並轉到“幫助-故障排除信息”(或在URL欄中鍵入about:support,然後按Enter)。

      打開Firefox並轉到“幫助-故障排除信息”

      打開Firefox並轉到“幫助-故障排除信息”

    • 在“故障排除信息”屏幕上,單擊“刷新Firefox”按鈕。

      在Mac上刷新Firefox

    • 確認預期的更改,然後重新啟動Firefox。

使用自動修復工具修復 Mac 電腦的 WindowServer 問題

Mac維護和安全性應用程序Combo Cleaner是一站式可檢測和刪除WindowServer病毒工具 。 與實用程序清除相比,此技術具有實質性優勢,因為該實用程序每小時更新一次病毒定義,甚至可以準確發現最新的Mac感染。

此外,自動解決方案將在系統結構的深處找到惡意軟件的核心文件,否則可能很難找到該文件。 這是使用Combo Cleaner解決安全查找器問題的演練:

  1. 下載Combo Cleaner安裝程序。 完成後,雙擊combocleaner.dmg文件,然後按照提示將工具安裝到Mac。

    下載組合清潔器

    下載本網站上推薦的任何應用程序即表示您同意我們的條款和條件以及隱私政策。 免費的掃描儀會檢查您的Mac是否被感染。 要清除惡意軟件,您需要購買高級版本的Combo Cleaner。

  2. 從啟動板打開應用程序,然後讓其運行惡意軟件簽名數據庫的更新,以確保它可以識別最新的威脅。
  3. 單擊“開始組合掃描”按鈕,檢查Mac是否存在惡意活動以及性能問題。

    Combo Cleaner Mac scan progress

  4. 檢查掃描結果。 如果報告中顯示“沒有威脅”,那麼您將處於手動清理的正確軌道,並且可以安全地整理網絡瀏覽器,該網絡瀏覽器由於受到惡意軟件攻擊的後果而可能繼續起作用(請參閱上面的說明 )。

    Combo Cleaner scan report – no threats found

  5. 如果Combo Cleaner檢測到惡意代碼,請單擊“刪除選定的項目”按鈕,並使該實用程序刪除WindowServer威脅以及Mac上不屬於的任何其他病毒,PUP(可能有害程序)或垃圾文件。

    Combo Cleaner – threats found

  6. 一旦再次確定已卸載惡意應用程序,瀏覽器級別的疑難解答可能仍會在您的待辦事項列表中。 如果您喜歡的瀏覽器受到影響,請訴諸本教程的上一部分以恢復為輕鬆的網絡瀏覽。
75

Was this article helpful? Please, rate this.

There are no comments yet.
Authentication required

You must log in to post a comment.

Log in

Skip to main content

How to fix WindowServer high CPU and memory usage on Mac


This guide explains how to address high CPU usage by WindowServer, nsurlsessiond, mdnsresponder, mds_stores, hidd, trustd, and syslogd processes on Mac.

Slowdown issues are a natural upshot of a Mac starting to age and lacking the resources to support increasingly resource-intensive applications. If the machine’s hardware is upgradeable, one decent workaround is to install more RAM and replace the standard “spinning” storage media with a faster SSD drive. But what if the performance of a brand-new or recently released MacBook, iMac, Mac Pro is running slower than usual? This condition requires some insight into the whys. Many users who run into such a situation and open the Activity Monitor to do some reconnaissance discover that a process named WindowServer is constantly using up most of the CPU resources. In many cases, this drag co-occurs with abnormally high memory consumption. This bug doesn’t appear to survive Mac reboots, but this measure has a short-time effect and the issue eventually re-emerges. It’s worth mentioning that the WindowServer related bug is often observed alongside unproportioned CPU consumption by the following processes: nsurlsessiond, mdnsresponder, mds_stores, hidd, trustd, and syslogd.

WindowServer, nsurlsessiond, and other processes using up too much CPU on Mac

So, what is WindowServer on a Mac? And why does its CPU usage occasionally skyrocket? Let’s try to figure out. First things first, here is some wiki stuff on this matter: WindowServer is a collection of services tasked with window management. It is also defined as a compositing engine responsible for reflecting application behavior on the Mac’s screen. The core macOS process sits in between the programs you run and their graphical manifestation you see on the display. It is executed once you log in and stops running as soon as you log out. Whenever you’re using an app, surfing the web via your browser, seeing an ad online, or playing a game, WindowServer is the entity that enables you to view it all dynamically. Therefore, it is a hugely important and harmless system element. This doesn’t mean that it operates flawlessly at all times, though.

One of the widely reported scenarios where WindowServer consumes too much CPU and RAM is related to connecting an external monitor to a Mac machine. The adverse occurrence is more likely if it’s a 4K monitor. Also, a lot of users notice the bug after enabling a scaled resolution on a Retina display. Improper implementation of transparency effects can be another reason for the unwanted activity. This overlapping of factors suggests that the problem may kick in when the normal graphics rendering process becomes more complex due to a specific set-up and resolution tweaks. Some users bump into the quandary right after updating to macOS Catalina 10.15, the current version of Apple’s operating system. Ideally, a glitch like that shouldn’t be observed in either case, but it’s often there and it needs immediate fixing. The affected machine runs hot for a long time and works slower than it should. Sometimes the buggy activity leads to kernel panics, a condition where the Mac crashes and the user cannot get it back on track easily.

As mentioned above, the WindowServer high CPU usage predicament is often encountered as part of a more unnerving whole. If you head to the Utilities and launch the Activity Monitor, you may notice several more processes collectively consuming the greater part of the central processing unit’s resources. Here’s a brief description these entities that may turn into CPU hogs out of the blue:

  • Nsurlsessiond. This is a process involved in syncing a Mac user’s images, contacts, and other data with the iCloud server.
  • Mdnsresponder. This one is a zero-configuration networking service that allows Apple devices to spot each other on the same network and share content such as iTunes libraries. Mdnsresponder a constituent of the so-called Bonjour protocol.
  • Mds_stores. It’s a component of the Spotlight search feature. One of its functions is to index files stored on the Mac.
  • Hidd. The acronym stands for “human interface device daemon”. Its role is to interpret all the events associated with your mouse and keyboard usage.
  • Trustd. This is a daemon that manages and verifies digital certificates to make sure the running processes are code-signed and can be trusted. It also checks if websites encrypt the connection and are safe to visit.
  • Syslogd. Maintenance of system logs is what the syslogd process does. It performs, among other things, the compression of these logs to optimize their size and make sure they don’t take too much space on disk.

A whole separate facet of abnormal Mac CPU usage by WindowServer and the processes listed above is in the security area. These bugs may be the way some malware strains signal their presence on a Mac computer. Cybercriminals aren’t likely to engage in extensive testing of their harmful code, which could lead to malfunctions when a system is infiltrated behind the scenes. Adware apps that target web browsers are also known to waste a ton of CPU resources by overburdening legitimate macOS services. Therefore, if your computer’s processing power is being permanently exhausted by the processes described in this tutorial, checking it for malicious activity is just as important as finding and tackling regular system malfunctions.


Manual removal of viruses causing WindowServer high CPU usage problem

The steps listed below will walk you through the removal of this malicious application. Be sure to follow the instructions in the specified order.

  1. Expand the Go menu in your Mac’s Finder bar and select Utilities as shown below.

    Go to Utilities

  2. Locate the Activity Monitor icon on the Utilities screen and double-click on it.

    Select the Activity Monitor

  3. In the Activity Monitor app, look for a process that appears suspicious. To narrow down your search, focus on unfamiliar resource-intensive entries on the list. Keep in mind that its name isn’t necessarily related to the way the threat is manifesting itself, so you’ll need to trust your own judgement. If you pinpoint the culprit, select it and click on the Stop icon in the upper left-hand corner of the screen.

    Stop malicious process

  4. When a follow-up dialog pops up asking if you are sure you want to quit the troublemaking process, select the Force Quit option.

    Select the Force Quit option

  5. Click on the Go menu icon in the Finder again and select Go to Folder. You can as well use the Command-Shift-G keyboard shortcut.

    Use the Go to Folder feature

  6. Type /Library/LaunchAgents in the folder search dialog and click on the Go button.

    Open /Library/LaunchAgents folder

  7. Examine the contents of the LaunchAgents folder for dubious-looking items. Be advised that the names of files spawned by malware may give no clear clues that they are malicious, so you should look for recently added entities that appear to deviate from the norm.

    As an illustration, here are several examples of LaunchAgents related to mainstream Mac infections: com.pcv.hlpramc.plist, com.updater.mcy.plist, com.avickUpd.plist, and com.msp.agent.plist. If you spot files that don’t belong on the list, go ahead and drag them to the Trash.

    Root-level LaunchAgents folder contents

  8. Use the Go to Folder lookup feature again to navigate to the folder named ~/Library/Application Support (note the tilde symbol prepended to the path).

    Open ~/Library/Application Support folder

  9. When the Application Support directory is opened, identify recently generated suspicious folders in it and send them to the Trash. A quick tip is to look for items whose names have nothing to do with Apple products or apps you knowingly installed. A few examples of known-malicious folder names are UtilityParze, LinkBranch, SystemSpecial, and IdeaShared.

    Application Support folder contents

  10. Enter ~/Library/LaunchAgents string (don’t forget to include the tilde character) in the Go to Folder search area.

    Open ~/Library/LaunchAgents directory

  11. The system will display LaunchAgents residing in the current user’s Home directory. Look for dodgy items related to the virus (see logic highlighted in subsections above) and drag the suspects to the Trash.

    Contents of LaunchAgents folder in user’s home directory

  12. Type /Library/LaunchDaemons in the Go to Folder search field.

    Go to /Library/LaunchDaemons

  13. In the LaunchDaemons path, try to pinpoint the files the malware is using for persistence. Several examples of such items cropped by Mac infections are com.pplauncher.plist, com.startup.plist, and com.ExpertModuleSearchDaemon.plist. Delete the sketchy files immediately.

    LaunchDaemons folder contents

  14. Click on the Go menu icon in your Mac’s Finder and select Applications on the list.

    Go to Applications screen on Mac

  15. Find the entry for an app that clearly doesn’t belong there and move it to the Trash. If this action requires your admin password for confirmation, go ahead and enter it.

    Drag malicious app to the Trash

  16. Expand the Apple menu and select System Preferences.

    Select System Preferences

    Open System Preferences

  17. Proceed to Users & Groups and click on the Login Items tab.

    Proceed to Users & Groups

    The system will display the list of items launched when the computer is starting up. Locate the potentially unwanted app there and click on the “-” (minus) button.

    Delete unwanted login item

  18. Now select Profiles under System Preferences. Look for a malicious item in the left-hand sidebar. Several examples of configuration profiles created by Mac adware include TechSignalSearch, MainSearchPlatform, AdminPrefs, and Chrome Settings. Select the offending entity and click on the minus sign at the bottom to eliminate it.

    Select Profiles under System Preferences

    Remove malicious configuration profile from Mac

    If your Mac has been infiltrated by adware, the infection will most likely continue to hold sway over your default web browser even after you remove the underlying application along with its components sprinkled around the system. Use the browser cleanup instructions below to address the remaining consequences of this attack.

Get rid of resource-intensive malware in web browser on Mac

To begin with, the web browser settings taken over by the virus exploiting WindowServer process should be restored to their default values. Although this will clear most of your customizations, web surfing history, and all temporary data stored by websites, the malicious interference should be terminated likewise. The overview of the steps for completing this procedure is as follows:

  1. Remove malware in Safari
    • Open the browser and go to Safari menu. Select Preferences in the drop-down list

      Go to Preferences in Safari

    • Once the Preferences screen appears, click on the Advanced tab and enable the option saying “Show Develop menu in menu bar”.

      Advanced tab under Safari Preferences

    • Now that the Develop entry has been added to the Safari menu, expand it and click on Empty Caches.

      Empty Caches in Safari

    • Now select History in the Safari menu and click on Clear History in the drop-down list.

      Clear history in Safari

    • Safari will display a dialog asking you to specify the period of time this action will apply to. Select all history to ensure a maximum effect. Click on the Clear History button to confirm and exit.

      Select all history to clear

    • Go back to the Safari Preferences and hit the Privacy tab at the top. Find the option that says Manage Website Data and click on it.

      Manage Website Data option under Privacy tab

    • The browser will display a follow-up screen listing the websites that have stored data about your Internet activities. This dialog additionally includes a brief description of what the removal does: you may be logged out of some services and encounter other changes of website behavior after the procedure. If you’re okay with that, go ahead and click on the Remove All button.

      Confirmation dialog

    • Restart Safari
  2. Get rid of viruses in Google Chrome
    • Open Chrome, click the Customize and control Google Chrome (⁝) icon in the top right-hand part of the window, and select Settings in the drop-down

      Chrome Settings

    • When on the Settings pane, select Advanced
    • Scroll down to the Reset settings section.

      Reset settings in Chrome on Mac

    • Confirm the Chrome reset on a dialog that will pop up. When the procedure is completed, relaunch the browser and check it for malware activity.

      Here’s how to reset settings in Chrome on Mac

  3. Stop malicious activity in Mozilla Firefox
    • Open Firefox and go to Help – Troubleshooting Information (or type about:support in the URL bar and press Enter).

      Open Firefox and go to Help

      Select Troubleshooting Information

    • When on the Troubleshooting Information screen, click on the Refresh Firefox button.

      Refresh Firefox on Mac

    • Confirm the intended changes and restart Firefox.

Use automatic tool to fix the WindowServer Mac issue

The Mac maintenance and security app called Combo Cleaner is a one-stop tool to detect and remove malware causing WindowServer high CPU usage. This technique has substantial benefits over manual cleanup, because the utility gets hourly virus definition updates and can accurately spot even the newest Mac infections.

Furthermore, the automatic solution will find the core files of the malware deep down the system structure, which might otherwise be a challenge to locate. Here’s a walkthrough to sort out the WindowServer issue using Combo Cleaner:

  1. Download Combo Cleaner installer. When done, double-click the combocleaner.dmg file and follow the prompts to install the tool onto your Mac.

    Download Combo Cleaner

    By downloading any applications recommended on this website you agree to our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy. The free scanner checks whether your Mac is infected. To get rid of malware, you need to purchase the Premium version of Combo Cleaner.

  2. Open the app from your Launchpad and let it run the update of malware signature database to make sure it can identify the latest threats.
  3. Click the Start Combo Scan button to check your Mac for malicious activity as well as performance issues.

    Combo Cleaner Mac scan progress

  4. Examine the scan results. If the report says “No Threats”, then you are on the right track with the manual cleaning and can safely proceed to tidy up the web browser that may continue to act up due to the after-effects of the malware attack (see instructions above).

    Combo Cleaner scan report – no threats found

  5. In case Combo Cleaner has detected malicious code, click the Remove Selected Items button and have the utility remove WindowServer CPU usage threat along with any other viruses, PUPs (potentially unwanted programs), or junk files that don’t belong on your Mac.

    Combo Cleaner – threats found

  6. Once you have made doubly sure that the malicious app is uninstalled, the browser-level troubleshooting might still be on your to-do list. If your preferred browser is affected, resort to the previous section of this tutorial to revert to hassle-free web surfing.

14

Was this article helpful? Please, rate this.

There are no comments yet.
Authentication required

You must log in to post a comment.

Log in