Skip to main content

從 Mac 移除 Yahoo Search 重定向病毒 (Safari, Chrome, Firefox)

瞭解去除 Mac 的 Yahoo 重定向病毒以及停止 Mac 電腦 Safari 及其他瀏覽工具的未授權經常性流量轉送。

更新: 2020年8月

病毒簡介
名稱 Yahoo 重定向病毒
類別 Mac 瀏覽器綁架者、重定向病毒、PUA
相關網域 Search[random]-a.akamaihd.net、default[random]-a.akamaihd.net、lkysearchds[random]-a.akamaihd.net、search.safefinder.com、search.anysearchmanager.com、search.chill-tab.com、search.searchpulse.net、search.tapufind.com、searchmine.net
症狀 透過第三方網站將 Mac 的瀏覽器重定向至 Yahoo、在搜尋結果加入受贊助內容、引起系統運作減慢、阻擋定期清除
分配技術 偽冒 Adobe Flash Player u更新彈出窗口、惡意捆綁軟體、垃圾郵件
安全級別 Medium
危險
移除 Combo Cleaner 掃描你的Mac電腦,檢測所有與瀏覽器劫持者相關的文件。倘發現感染,使用工具清除感染。

當一個人手中失去無障礙網路衝浪的特權,則事情會迅速變得讓人無法忍受。在這種狀況下,透過首選服務進行搜尋,或是簡單選擇啟動一個網頁瀏覽工具,都會返回一個使用者不希望看見的網站。倘出現該事項,受害者應找出在背後執行整個策略的惡意代碼。當該項進入 Mac 電腦,會有多個邊緣瀏覽工具綁架者尚未達到足夠大的發行量,但也有持續多年並已入侵數以千計的機器的大型事件。後者對 Yahoo 重定向病毒持有正確觀點,而 Yahoo 重定向病毒的感染率表明,保持合理線上衛生至關重要。這種入侵的主要症狀是,出現大量令人厭惡的網站流量重複傳輸活動,且其目標網頁為 search.yahoo.com。

Mac 存在 Yahoo 重定向病毒,受害者遇上對 search.yahoo.com 的不必要瀏覽

就在此時,眾多讀者可能會有所疑問,為什麼上述合法搜尋工具被標記為惡意。而事實上並非如此——否則,該分類完全是一種誤解。相反,最大的問題就是一項強大的應用程式。該程式實際上是在奴役網頁瀏覽工具,並將大量網際網路常規流量轉送往 Yahoo。從獨一無二的主機收集線上流量在近期是一項極具價值的資產,因此,網路詐騙者精心設計了一項模型,並以一種惡意手段使用而獲利。問題是,在受害者被綁架而最終轉至一個有問題的網際網路巨頭,而他們透過多個中間網域傳輸的流量,實際上被計入狡猾的流量貨幣化平台。

在通用 Yahoo 搜尋工具重定向活動的廣泛保護範圍內,有數種可疑服務正在運作。這些服務的運作乃由潛在有害應用程式 (PUA) 支援,其聲稱可提高 Mac 使用者的網路衝浪體驗,而實際上是降低了。下列為這些主流廣告軟體的部分示例:Safe Finder (search.safefinder.com)、Any Search Manager (search.anysearchmanager.com)、SearchMine (searchmine.net)、Search Pulse (search.searchpulse.net)、TapuFind (search.tapufind.com) 以及 Chill Tab (search.chill-tab.com)。所有這些軟體都偽裝成轉往搜尋工具提供者的入口網頁。然而可以預見的是,沒有一個有真正專有的資訊搜尋功能,能夠以原本面貌將每一項詢問重定向至 Yahoo。在這種未授權的網際網路流量重新分配的大多數情況下,都會在到達目的地的過程中解析中間 URL。其中一個常見示例是由 lkysearchds[random digits] 或類似字串開頭的 a.akamaihd.net 網域名稱。

潛在惡意軟體已在清理行動的突擊階段開始前就潛入了 Mac 電腦。這通常是捆綁技術的結果,該捆綁技術被體面且不道德的軟體開發人員廣泛使用,以交叉推廣某些作為更大安裝包一部分的應用程式。使用者在這些日子無法閱讀設計精美的圖片,因而他們會有遇到嚴重困難。Yahoo 重定向病毒會以多種形式在安裝用戶端潛伏,以獲取看似合法的軟體更新或諸如媒體下載工具或視訊遊戲等部分有用的免費工具。例如, 人們已知偽造 Adobe Flash Player 更新彈出窗口為可散佈這種電子疾病的項目。因設定簡易而廣為人知的快速安裝選項,會在您不知情時在背後執行不可告人的操作。之後您會發現,在 Mac 的Safari、Chrome 或 Firefox 在開始啟動時表現不佳。

一旦 macOS 或 Mac OS X 系統出現汙染,重定向至 search.yahoo.com 通常根據特定模式觸發,而非偶然觸發。受害者報告他們的搜尋工具被強行由 Google 轉為 Yahoo。僅打開自己的首選瀏覽器也是造成這種困境的另一個原因。所有為相應自定義瀏覽設定定義正確 URL 作出排序的嘗試均已失敗——由於持續的惡意軟體活動,錯誤數值很快再次出現。有時預設值會是正確,而干擾在主機作業系統的另一層發生。

由 Yahoo 重定向病毒加入的可以使用者檔案

在持久性方面,Yahoo 重定向病毒與所有強力 Mac 廣告軟體線列保持一致。一旦在系統出現,會加入詐欺性描述檔以增強攻擊鏈。該流氓條目在「系統首選項」下的「檔案」頁面的側欄中出現。該項旨在強行執行某些不同 macOS 元件的行為,包括已安裝的瀏覽器。由此,惡意代碼可利用升級之權限運行,而且,除了惡意檔案已被清除的情況外,其影響無法逆轉。說到這一點,唯一會阻礙這樣清理階段的因素是,有問題的對象因個案而異,因而難以查明。因此,受害者應遵循自己的直覺,並找出與環境不同的檔案。獲命名為 AresLookup 的項,是 Yahoo 重定向病毒建立的檔案示例,該檔案為攻擊的一部分(見上圖)。該項會在禁用手動修改的範圍內管理瀏覽器設定。另一症狀是頻繁出現彈出式對話框,要求受害者向 AresLookup 授予網路訪問權限。選出可疑對象並按下減號圖標是成功的一半,這將最終達成清除感染的目標。

這種感染的另一層持久性,同時也是明顯跡象,是瀏覽工具新企業政策的發端。例如,大多數受害者在 Mac 的 Google Chrome 瀏覽工具下拉式選單找到顯示「管理您的組織」的訊息。這是惡意軟體活動濫用合法功能的另一種表現。在這種狀況下,修正應同步覆蓋受影響系統的多個區域,如下方清理部分所示。

Yahoo Search redirect手動刪除Mac病毒

以下列出的步驟將引導您刪除該惡意應用程式。

  1. 展開Mac的Finder欄中的“前往”菜單,然後選擇“工具程式”,如下所示。

    前往“工具程式”

  2. 在“工具程式”屏幕上找到“活動監視器”圖標,然後雙擊。

    選擇“活動監視器”

  3. 在“活動監視器”應用程式中,查找看似可疑的進程。若·縮小搜索範圍,則需關注列表上不熟悉的資源密集型條目。請記住,其名稱不一定與威脅顯現的方式相關,因此您需要相信自己的判斷。如果您查明了問題的罪魁禍首,點擊選擇,然後單擊屏幕左上角的“停止”圖標。

    停止惡意進程

  4. 後續對話框彈出,並詢問您是否確定要結束故障排除過程時,請選擇“強制結束”選項。

    Select the Force Quit option

  5. 再次單擊Finder中的“前往”菜單圖標,然後選擇“前往資料夾”。您也可以使用Command-Shift-G鍵盤快捷鍵。

    使用前往資料夾功能

  6. 在文件夾搜索對話框中輸入/ 資源庫 / LaunchAgents,然後單擊“前往”按鍵。

    打開/資料庫 / LaunchAgents資料夾

  7. 檢查LaunchAgents資料夾內是否有可疑的項目。請注意,由惡意軟件生成的文件名稱可能無法提供說明它們是惡意軟件的明確線索,

    以下是與主流Mac感染相關的幾個LaunchAgents示例:com.pcv.hlpramc.plistcom.updater.mcy.plistcom.avickUpd.plistcom.msp.agent.plist。如果發現不屬於列表的文件,請繼續將其拖至垃圾桶。

    根級別LaunchAgents資料夾內容

  8. 再次使用“前往資料夾”的查找導航功能,並在搜索字段中輸入〜/ 資源庫 / Application Support的資料夾(請注意路徑前的波浪符號)。

    打開〜/ 資源庫 / Application Support資料夾

  9. 打開“Application Support”目錄時,請在其中識別最近生成的可疑資料夾,並將它們發送到“垃圾桶”。快速提示是查找名稱與您故意安裝的Apple產品或應用程式無關的項目。已知的部分惡意資料夾名稱示例有IdeaSharedForwardOpenExtraBrowser

    “Application Support資料夾內容

  10. 在“前往資料夾” 搜索字段中輸入〜/ 資源庫 / LaunchAgents字符串(不要忘記添加波浪符號)。

    打開〜/ 資源庫 / LaunchAgents目錄

  11. 系統將顯示當前用戶主目錄中的LaunchAgent。查找與Yahoo Search redirect病毒相關的可疑項目(請參閱上方小節中突出顯示的邏輯),然後將可疑對象拖到垃圾桶。

    用戶主目錄中LaunchAgents資料夾的內容

  12. 在“前往資料夾”搜索字段中鍵入/ 資源庫 / LaunchDaemons

    前往/ 資源庫 / LaunchDaemons

  13. 在LaunchDaemons路徑中,嘗試查明惡意軟件使用的持久性文件。部分Mac感染示例包括com.pplauncher.plistcom.startup.plistcom.ExpertModuleSearchDaemon.plist。 立即刪除可疑文件。

    LaunchDaemons資料夾內容

  14. 單擊Mac的Finder中的“前往”菜單圖標,然後在列表中選擇“應用程式”。

    在Mac中前往“應用程式”屏幕

  15. 找到顯然不屬於該應用程式的條目,然後將其移至垃圾桶。如果此操作需要輸入管理員密碼進行確認,請繼續輸入管理員密碼。

    將惡意應用拖到垃圾桶

  16. 展開Apple菜單,然後選擇“系統偏好設定”。

    Select System Preferences

    打開系統偏好設定

  17. 轉至“用戶與組群”,然後單擊“登錄項目”選項卡。

    Proceed to Users & Groups

    系統將顯示計算機啟動時的啟動項目列表。 在此處找到可能不需要的應用程序,然後單擊“-”(減號)按鍵。

    刪除不需要的登錄項

  18. 現在,在“系統偏好設定置”下選擇“描述檔”。在左側邊欄中查找惡意項目。Mac廣告軟件創建的部分配置文件示例包括TechSignalSearchMainSearchPlatform、,AdminPrefsChrome設定。選擇有問題的條目,然後單擊底部的減號,將其消除。

    Select Profiles under System Preferences

    從Mac刪除惡意配置文件

    如果您的Mac已被廣告軟件滲透,那麼即使您刪除了底層應用程序及其周圍散佈的組件,感染也很可能會繼續在默認的Web瀏覽器中佔據主導地位。使用下方的瀏覽器清除說明來進一步解決此攻擊的遺留後果。

在Mac上的網絡瀏覽器中擺脫Yahoo redirect重定向

首先,應將Yahoo redirect重定向]病毒接管的Web瀏覽器設置恢復為默認值。 儘管這將清除您的大多數自定義設置,網絡瀏覽歷史記錄以及網站存儲的所有臨時數據,但惡意干擾也應同樣終止。 完成此過程的步驟概述如下:

  1. 從Safari移除Yahoo redirect病毒
    • 打開瀏覽器,然後轉到Safari菜單。 在下拉列表中選擇首選項。

      在Safari中轉到“偏好設置”

    • 出現“首選項”屏幕後,單擊“高級”選項卡,然後啟用選項“在菜單欄中顯示開髮菜單”。

      “ Safari偏好設置”下的“高級”標籤

    • 現在,“開發”條目已添加到Safari菜單中,將其展開並單擊“空緩存”。.

      Safari中的空緩存

    • 現在,在Safari菜單中選擇“歷史記錄”,然後在下拉列表中單擊“清除歷史記錄”

      清除Safari中的歷史記錄

    • Safari將顯示一個對話框,要求您指定此操作將應用的時間。 選擇所有歷史記錄以確保發揮最大作用。 單擊清除歷史記錄按鈕以確認並退出。

      選擇所有歷史記錄以清除

    • 返回Safari偏好設置,然後點擊頂部的“隱私”標籤。 找到顯示“管理網站數據”的選項,然後單擊它。

      “隱私”選項卡下的“管理網站數據”選項

    • 瀏覽器將顯示一個後續屏幕,列出存儲了有關Internet活動數據的網站。 此對話框還簡要說明了刪除操作:在執行此步驟後,您可能會退出某些服務並遇到網站行為的其他變化。 如果可以的話,請繼續並點擊全部刪除按鈕。

      “確認”對話框

    • 重新啟動Safari。
  2. 從Google Chrome移除Yahoo redirect重定向
    • 打開Chrome,點擊窗口右上角的自定義和控制Google Chrome圖標,然後在下拉菜單中選擇設置。

       打開Chrome,點擊窗口右上角的自定義和控制Google Chrome圖標,然後在下拉菜單中選擇設置。

    • 在“設置”窗格上時,選擇“高級”。
    • 向下滾動到“重置設置”部分。

       向下滾動到“重置設置”部分。

    • 在彈出的對話框中確認Chrome重置。 該過程完成後,重新啟動瀏覽器並檢查其是否存在惡意軟件活動。

      這是在Mac上的Chrome中重置設置的方法

  3. 從Mozilla Firefox移除 Yahoo redirect病毒
    • 打開Firefox並轉到“幫助-故障排除信息”(或在URL欄中鍵入about:support,然後按Enter)。

      打開Firefox並轉到“幫助-故障排除信息”

      打開Firefox並轉到“幫助-故障排除信息”

    • 在“故障排除信息”屏幕上,單擊“刷新Firefox”按鈕。

      在Mac上刷新Firefox

    • 確認預期的更改,然後重新啟動Firefox。

使用Combo Cleaner自動刪除工具擺脫Yahoo Search redirect病毒

Mac維護和安全性應用程序Combo Cleaner是一站式可檢測和刪除Yahoo redirect病毒工具 。 與實用程序清除相比,此技術具有實質性優勢,因為該實用程序每小時更新一次病毒定義,甚至可以準確發現最新的Mac感染。

此外,自動解決方案將在系統結構的深處找到惡意軟件的核心文件,否則可能很難找到該文件。 這是使用Combo Cleaner解決安全查找器問題的演練:

  1. 下載Combo Cleaner安裝程序。 完成後,雙擊combocleaner.dmg文件,然後按照提示將工具安裝到Mac。

    下載組合清潔器

    下載本網站上推薦的任何應用程序即表示您同意我們的條款和條件以及隱私政策。 免費的掃描儀會檢查您的Mac是否被感染。 要清除惡意軟件,您需要購買高級版本的Combo Cleaner。

  2. 從啟動板打開應用程序,然後讓其運行惡意軟件簽名數據庫的更新,以確保它可以識別最新的威脅。
  3. 單擊“開始組合掃描”按鈕,檢查Mac是否存在惡意活動以及性能問題。

    Combo Cleaner Mac scan progress

  4. 檢查掃描結果。 如果報告中顯示“沒有威脅”,那麼您將處於手動清理的正確軌道,並且可以安全地整理網絡瀏覽器,該網絡瀏覽器由於受到惡意軟件攻擊的後果而可能繼續起作用(請參閱上面的說明 )。

    Combo Cleaner scan report – no threats found

  5. 如果Combo Cleaner檢測到惡意代碼,請單擊“刪除選定的項目”按鈕,並使該實用程序刪除Yahoo redirect威脅以及Mac上不屬於的任何其他病毒,PUP(可能有害程序)或垃圾文件。

    Combo Cleaner – threats found

  6. 一旦再次確定已卸載惡意應用程序,瀏覽器級別的疑難解答可能仍會在您的待辦事項列表中。 如果您喜歡的瀏覽器受到影響,請訴諸本教程的上一部分以恢復為輕鬆的網絡瀏覽。

常見問題

如上一項答案所述,僅瀏覽工具故障排除這一項,倘不首先移除基礎病毒,則無法進行。您應該堅持本文所述的清理演練,以徹底消除感染。

重要的是,請務必前往「系統首選項——帳戶」檢查您的登入項目。在多個個案中,受害者都在該處有一個命名為「Mac Mechanic」的項——一旦發現,請立即刪除。這是一項偽冒的系統小程式,會首先將 Yahoo 重定向病毒傳播至您的 Mac。

要解決搜尋工具代替問題,請前往您的瀏覽工具首選項畫面,並確定已選取正確搜尋工具提供者作為預設選項。此外,倘發現可疑瀏覽工具擴展項,請將其禁用。一個更徹底的解決方案是,將受影響的網頁瀏覽工具重設至原始狀態,然後重新定義您的自定義設定。

倘遇到感染病毒的狀況,將您的首選搜尋工具由 Yahoo 轉換回 Google 與手動調整該等設定相較極為複雜。您還需要避免惡意應用程式的干擾,以使良性更改永遠有效。

以下是您的 MacBook Air 或 MacBook Pro 用於查找潛在惡意程式的元件及路徑:活動監測工具、應用程式及登入項目。任何明顯不屬於該處的內容都應刪除。

您需首先從您的 Mac 移除重定向病毒,方可開始修正瀏覽器設定。請參閱題為「清除 Mac 網頁瀏覽工具的 search.yahoo.com 重定向病毒」一節之指引獲取適當指示。完成該等步驟後,請繼續操作並在瀏覽工具選項將您的預設搜尋工具指定為 Google。

不需要。這取決與用作推廣該等網頁服務之方法。顯然,建立及維持一個完全成熟的搜尋工具,需要大量精力與人力資源,加上大量時間。僅大公司有能力付款購買。同時,希望在線上服務納入搜尋功能的法人團體,可選擇將該功能外包予 Yahoo。

然而,眾所周知的是,惡意軟體開發人員會大規模濫用 Powered by Yahoo 框架。他們潛在的惡意應用程式強行更改了使用者的網際網路首選項,因而瀏覽工具顯示加入正常情況下不屬於該處的廣告的 Yahoo 搜尋結果。這說明了類似這種方法會有引起惡意干擾的傾向。事實是,「Powered by Yahoo」在這些流量貨幣化活動中成了掩人耳目的因素。

187

Was this article helpful? Please, rate this.

  • Matthieu Lorrain Avatar
    Matthieu Lorrain - 2个月前
    Bonjour, Votre tutoriel ne fonctionne pas dans mon cas. IMPOSSIBLE de trouver Yahoo Search sur Moniteur d'activité. Et Combo Cleaner n'est qu'une version d'essai, et forcément, si on ne paye pas, ça ne part pas. Avez-vous svp une autre solution? Merci pour votre retour.

    David Balaban Avatar
    David Balaban - 1个月前
    Hi Matthieu, Thanks for getting in touch! Not being able to pinpoint the Yahoo Search redirect malware in the Activity Monitor is a common thing, given that it is backed by a dodgy app that typically looks unrelated to the infection. If you can’t spot the obvious culprit this way, open your Applications folder and check the list for an app you don’t recognize or one you didn’t wittingly install. Focus on recently added items. This could give you a clue which app is setting the browser redirects in motion and needs to be removed. Once you have found the unwanted program, go ahead and uninstall it along with its file traces such as LaunchAgents, LaunchDaemons, and Application Support files. Then, reset your affected browsers to their original defaults and re-specify your web surfing preferences. Hopefully this helps.

Authentication required

You must log in to post a comment.

Log in

Skip to main content
Remove Yahoo Search redirect virus from Mac (Safari, Chrome, Firefox)

Remove Yahoo Search redirect virus from Mac (Safari, Chrome, Firefox)


Learn how to get rid of the Yahoo redirect virus on Mac and stop recurrent unauthorized traffic forwarding in Safari and other browsers on a Mac computer.

Update: June 2020

Threat Profile
Name Yahoo redirect virus
Category Mac browser hijacker, redirect virus, PUA
Related Domains Search[random]-a.akamaihd.net, default[random]-a.akamaihd.net, lkysearchds[random]-a.akamaihd.net, search.safefinder.com, search.anysearchmanager.com, search.chill-tab.com, search.searchpulse.net, search.tapufind.com, searchmine.net
Symptoms Redirects web browser on Mac to Yahoo via third-party websites, adds sponsored content to search results, causes system slowdown, resists regular removal
Distribution Techniques Fake Adobe Flash Player update popups, malware-riddled bundles, spam
Severity Level Medium
Damage Unwanted changes of custom browsing settings, privacy issues due to Internet activity tracking, search redirects, ads above the fold
Removal Scan your Mac with Combo Cleaner to detect all files related to the browser hijacker. Use the tool to remove the infection if found.

When the prerogative of unimpeded web surfing slips out of one’s hands, things quickly get intolerable. In this scenario, doing a search via preferred service or simply launching a browser of choice will return a site the user doesn’t expect to see. If this is the case, the victims should look for malicious code that’s implementing this whole stratagem behind their back. When it comes to Mac computers, there are numerous marginal browser hijackers that never reach sizeable distribution volumes, but there are also major campaigns that last for years and span thousands of machines. The latter holds true for the Yahoo redirect virus, a plague whose prevalence demonstrates how important it is to stick with reasonable online hygiene. The main symptom of this incursion is an annoying web traffic rerouting activity, with the resulting page being search.yahoo.com.

At this point, many readers will probably start wondering why the above-mentioned legit search engine is flagged malicious. As a matter of fact, it’s not – otherwise, the categorization is an utter misconception. Instead, the entire problem is about a perpetrating app that literally enslaves one’s web browser and forwards the bulk of the Internet surfing routine to Yahoo. Online traffic funneling from unique hosts is an extremely valuable asset nowadays, and the cybercrooks have contrived an intricate model to harness and monetize in their very own, nefarious way. The thing is, before a victim ends up on the reputable Internet giant in question as a result of the hijack, they get routed via a number of intermediary domains, and these hits actually count in the dodgy traffic monetization platform.

There are several dubious services operating under the wide umbrella of the generic Yahoo Search redirect campaign. Most of them are backed by potentially unwanted apps (PUAs) that claim to enhance Mac users’ web surfing experience but actually turn it upside down. Here are a few examples of these mainstream adware strains: Safe Finder (search.safefinder.com), Any Search Manager (search.anysearchmanager.com), SearchMine (searchmine.net), and Search Pulse (search.searchpulse.net), TapuFind (search.tapufind.com), and Chill Tab (search.chill-tab.com). All of them force hits to their landing pages camouflaged as search providers. Predictably enough, though, none has a real proprietary information lookup feature, primitively redirecting every query to Yahoo. In most instances of this unauthorized redistribution of Internet traffic, there are intermediary URLs resolved en route to the destination. A common example is a.akamaihd.net domain name prepended by lkysearchds[random digits] or similar random-looking string.

The aggressive phase of the raid is preceded by a furtive infiltration of the underlying malware into the Mac. This is typically an upshot of a bundling technique heavily used by both decent and unscrupulous software developers to cross-promote certain apps coming as part of a bigger installation package. Users don’t read the fine print these days, and that could be a source of serious quandaries. The Yahoo redirect virus may lurk in multi-pronged setup clients for what appears to be a legit software update or some useful free tool, such as a media downloader or video game. For instance, the fake Adobe Flash Player update popups are known to spread this electronic malady. The express installation option, which is most people’s favorite due to the ease of the setup, will silently pull in the culprit. The next thing you know, Safari, Chrome or Firefox on the Mac will start acting up badly.

Once the contamination has taken place on a macOS or Mac OS X system, the redirects to search.yahoo.com are usually triggered according to a specific pattern rather than haphazardly. The victims report their Google searches being forcibly diverted to Yahoo. Simply opening one’s preferred browser is another trigger for the predicament. All attempts to sort it out by defining correct URLs for the corresponding custom browsing settings are futile – the wrong values shortly reappear in there due to the persistent malware activity. Sometimes the defaults may even be right, with the interference taking place at a different layer of the host operating system.

When it comes to persistence, the Yahoo redirect virus goes in lockstep with all potent Mac adware lineages. Once it crops up in a system, it enhances the attack chain by adding a fraudulent configuration profile. This rogue entry is listed in the sidebar of the Profiles page under System Preferences. Its goal is to enforce certain behaviors of different macOS components, including the installed browsers. This way, the malicious code runs with elevated privileges and its impact is impossible to reverse unless the evil profile is erased. Speaking of which, the only thing that may hamper this stage of the cleanup is that the name of the offending object varies from case to case and therefore it could be hard to pinpoint. Therefore, the victims should follow their intuition and look for a profile that looks out of place. An entry named AresLookup is an example of a profile created by Yahoo redirect virus as part of the attack (see image above). It manages browser settings to the extent where manual modifications are disabled. An extra symptom is the emergence of recurrent popup dialogs asking the victim to grant AresLookup network access permission. Selecting the suspect and clicking on the minus icon is half the battle and will pave the way to successful removal of the infection.

One more tier of persistence and at the same time a telltale symptom of this infection is the onset of a new enterprise policy in the web browser. For instance, most victims encounter a message that says “Managed by your organization” in the Google Chrome settings pull-down menu on Mac. This is another manifestation of legitimate features being mishandled in malware campaigns. Under the circumstances, the cure should synchronously cover several areas of the affected system, as shown in the cleanup part below.


Yahoo Search redirect virus manual removal for Mac

The steps listed below will walk you through the removal of this malicious application. Be sure to follow the instructions in the specified order.

  1. Expand the Go menu in your Mac’s Finder bar and select Utilities as shown below.

  2. Locate the Activity Monitor icon on the Utilities screen and double-click on it.

  3. In the Activity Monitor app, look for a process that appears suspicious. To narrow down your search, focus on unfamiliar resource-intensive entries on the list. Keep in mind that its name isn’t necessarily related to the way the threat is manifesting itself, so you’ll need to trust your own judgement. If you pinpoint the culprit, select it and click on the Stop icon in the upper left-hand corner of the screen.

  4. When a follow-up dialog pops up asking if you are sure you want to quit the troublemaking process, select the Force Quit option.

  5. Click on the Go menu icon in the Finder again and select Go to Folder. You can as well use the Command-Shift-G keyboard shortcut.

  6. Type /Library/LaunchAgents in the folder search dialog and click on the Go button.

  7. Examine the contents of the LaunchAgents folder for dubious-looking items. Be advised that the names of files spawned by malware may give no clear clues that they are malicious, so you should look for recently added entities that appear to deviate from the norm.

    As an illustration, here are several examples of LaunchAgents related to mainstream Mac infections: com.pcv.hlpramc.plist, com.updater.mcy.plist, com.avickUpd.plist, and com.msp.agent.plist. If you spot files that don’t belong on the list, go ahead and drag them to the Trash.

  8. Use the Go to Folder lookup feature again to navigate to the folder named ~/Library/Application Support (note the tilde symbol prepended to the path).

  9. When the Application Support directory is opened, identify recently generated suspicious folders in it and send them to the Trash. A quick tip is to look for items whose names have nothing to do with Apple products or apps you knowingly installed. A few examples of known-malicious folder names are SystemSpecial, ProgressSite, and IdeaShared.

  10. Enter ~/Library/LaunchAgents string (don’t forget to include the tilde character) in the Go to Folder search area.

  11. The system will display LaunchAgents residing in the current user’s Home directory. Look for dodgy items related to Yahoo redirect virus (see logic highlighted in subsections above) and drag the suspects to the Trash.

  12. Type /Library/LaunchDaemons in the Go to Folder search field.

  13. In the LaunchDaemons path, try to pinpoint the files the malware is using for persistence. Several examples of such items cropped by Mac infections are com.pplauncher.plist, com.startup.plist, and com.ExpertModuleSearchDaemon.plist. Delete the sketchy files immediately.

  14. Click on the Go menu icon in your Mac’s Finder and select Applications on the list.

  15. Find the entry for an app that clearly doesn’t belong there and move it to the Trash. If this action requires your admin password for confirmation, go ahead and enter it.

  16. Expand the Apple menu and select System Preferences.

  17. Proceed to Users & Groups and click on the Login Items tab.

    The system will display the list of items launched when the computer is starting up. Locate the potentially unwanted app there and click on the “-” (minus) button.

  18. Now select Profiles under System Preferences. Look for a malicious item in the left-hand sidebar. Several examples of configuration profiles created by Mac adware include AresLookup, TechSignalSearch, MainSearchPlatform, AdminPrefs, and Chrome Settings. Select the offending entity and click on the minus sign at the bottom to eliminate it.

    If your Mac has been infiltrated by adware, the infection will most likely continue to hold sway over your default web browser even after you remove the underlying application along with its components sprinkled around the system. Use the browser cleanup instructions below to address the remaining consequences of this attack.

Get rid of Yahoo redirect virus in web browser on Mac

To begin with, the web browser settings taken over by the Yahoo redirect virus should be restored to their default values. Although this will clear most of your customizations, web surfing history, and all temporary data stored by websites, the malicious interference should be terminated likewise. The overview of the steps for completing this procedure is as follows:

  1. Remove Yahoo redirect virus from Safari
    • Open the browser and go to Safari menu. Select Preferences in the drop-down list

    • Once the Preferences screen appears, click on the Advanced tab and enable the option saying “Show Develop menu in menu bar”.

    • Now that the Develop entry has been added to the Safari menu, expand it and click on Empty Caches.

    • Now select History in the Safari menu and click on Clear History in the drop-down list.

    • Safari will display a dialog asking you to specify the period of time this action will apply to. Select all history to ensure a maximum effect. Click on the Clear History button to confirm and exit.

    • Go back to the Safari Preferences and hit the Privacy tab at the top. Find the option that says Manage Website Data and click on it.

    • The browser will display a follow-up screen listing the websites that have stored data about your Internet activities. This dialog additionally includes a brief description of what the removal does: you may be logged out of some services and encounter other changes of website behavior after the procedure. If you’re okay with that, go ahead and click on the Remove All button.

    • Restart Safari
  2. Remove Yahoo redirect in Google Chrome
    • Open Chrome, click the Customize and control Google Chrome (⁝) icon in the top right-hand part of the window, and select Settings in the drop-down

    • When on the Settings pane, select Advanced
    • Scroll down to the Reset settings section.

    • Confirm the Chrome reset on a dialog that will pop up. When the procedure is completed, relaunch the browser and check it for malware activity.

  3. Remove Yahoo redirect from Mozilla Firefox
    • Open Firefox and go to Help – Troubleshooting Information (or type about:support in the URL bar and press Enter).

    • When on the Troubleshooting Information screen, click on the Refresh Firefox button.

    • Confirm the intended changes and restart Firefox.

Get rid of Yahoo redirect virus Mac using Combo Cleaner removal tool

The Mac maintenance and security app called Combo Cleaner is a one-stop tool to detect and remove Yahoo redirect virus. This technique has substantial benefits over manual cleanup, because the utility gets hourly virus definition updates and can accurately spot even the newest Mac infections.

Furthermore, the automatic solution will find the core files of the malware deep down the system structure, which might otherwise be a challenge to locate. Here’s a walkthrough to sort out the Yahoo redirect issue using Combo Cleaner:

  1. Download Combo Cleaner installer. When done, double-click the combocleaner.dmg file and follow the prompts to install the tool onto your Mac.

    Download Combo Cleaner

    By downloading any applications recommended on this website you agree to our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy. The free scanner checks whether your Mac is infected. To get rid of malware, you need to purchase the Premium version of Combo Cleaner.

  2. Open the app from your Launchpad and let it run the update of malware signature database to make sure it can identify the latest threats.
  3. Click the Start Combo Scan button to check your Mac for malicious activity as well as performance issues.

  4. Examine the scan results. If the report says “No Threats”, then you are on the right track with the manual cleaning and can safely proceed to tidy up the web browser that may continue to act up due to the after-effects of the malware attack (see instructions above).

  5. In case Combo Cleaner has detected malicious code, click the Remove Selected Items button and have the utility remove Yahoo redirect threat along with any other viruses, PUPs (potentially unwanted programs), or junk files that don’t belong on your Mac.

  6. Once you have made doubly sure that the malicious app is uninstalled, the browser-level troubleshooting might still be on your to-do list. If your preferred browser is affected, resort to the previous section of this tutorial to revert to hassle-free web surfing.

FAQ

As outlined in the previous answer, browser troubleshooting alone is a no-go unless you remove the underlying virus first. You should stick to the cleanup walkthrough covered in the article to make the infection vanish.

Importantly, be sure to peek into your Login Items by going to System Preferences – Accounts. In many cases, the victims have a rogue entry named ‘Mac Mechanic’ in there – if found, delete it right away. This is a fake system utility that may have promoted the Yahoo redirect virus into your Mac in the first place.

In order to sort out the search engine replacement issue, go to your browser’s preferences screen and ascertain that the right search provider is selected as the default one. Additionally, disable suspicious browser extensions if spotted. A more thoroughgoing fix is to reset the affected web browser to its original state and redefine your custom settings afterwards.

If you are faced with a virus scenario, switching from Yahoo to Google as your preferred search engine is a much more complex procedure than tweaking these settings manually. You need to additionally get around the malicious app’s interference so that the benign changes take effect for good.

Here are the components and paths on your MacBook Air or MacBook Pro to scour for the potentially unwanted program: Activity Monitor, Applications, and Login Items. Anything that clearly doesn’t belong there should be deleted.

It’s not until the redirect virus has been removed from your Mac that you can get down to rectifying the browser settings. See the guide’s section called ‘Get rid of search.yahoo.com redirect virus in web browser on Mac’ for the appropriate instructions. Having completed these steps, go ahead and assign Google as your default search engine in the browser of choice.

Not necessarily. It depends on the methods leveraged to promote such a web service. Obviously, it takes enormous efforts and human resources, plus a lot of time to create and maintain a fully-fledged search engine. Only major companies can afford it. Meanwhile, the entities that wish to include a search feature in their online service can choose to outsource the functionality to Yahoo.

However, malware developers are known to abuse the Powered by Yahoo framework on a large scale. Their potentially unwanted apps forcibly change users’ Internet preferences so that the browser returns Yahoo search results combined with ads that normally don’t belong there. This explains why such an approach tends to call forth malicious inferences. The truth is that the inscription “Powered by Yahoo” becomes a sort of red herring in these traffic monetization campaigns.

95

Was this article helpful? Please, rate this.

There are no comments yet.
Authentication required

You must log in to post a comment.

Log in