Skip to main content
Remove “Pornographic Virus Alert from Apple” warning popups

Remove “Pornographic Virus Alert from Apple” warning popups

Get rid of Pornographic Virus Alert from Apple popups that wrongfully report malicious activity on a Mac to promote a large-scale tech support scam.

It’s not in Apple’s nature to notify users about security issues with their devices by means of popup alerts appearing on websites. Although this seems to be an obvious fact that holds true for any major service provider, online con artists are running a scam campaign that contradicts common sense to a certain extent but still works regardless. The hoax relies on a PUA (potentially unwanted application) that redirects the victims to a web page claiming that malicious activity was detected on their Macs. The misleading site triggers a Pornographic Virus Alert from Apple popup ad that says the machine was blocked due to inappropriate use of adult materials, which has purportedly entailed a severe malware attack. To sort out the issue, the targeted person is instructed to report the predicament to Apple support team by calling a phone number indicated on the page.

There are several essential things to be aware of in this context. First of all, the warning is a bluff and the Mac isn’t actually blocked, nor is its functionality limited in any way. The only real obstacle to normal usage of the system is that the victim’s default web browser has been infected with a perpetrating plugin that’s wreaking havoc with the Internet traffic. The troublemaking browser component usually penetrates into hosts over bundling, a mechanism pushing harmful code alongside benign software. This technique is not clearly deleterious as long as the entirety of the programs within the bundle are safe – this way, ethical developers of free applications can earn a living. If one or several elements in the package are malware-riddled, though, the method turns into a nasty framework for disseminating Mac viruses.

As soon as a user unknowingly lets the bad code in, it determines which browser is set as the default one, and from there, adjusts the web navigation tool to the shady objective. The pest supports Safari, as well as Mac editions of Chrome and Firefox. It adds a plugin or extension to the target browser without asking for the admin’s consent. The rogue helper object then invokes commands to forward the victim to a dubious site in a recurrent manner. The subsequent routine involves a series of predefined scripts running on the landing page that complement the whole experience with shades of pressure, intimidation, and urgency. The Pornographic Virus Alert from Apple popup accompanies every such redirect instance, emphasizing that the Mac has been allegedly blocked because of a dangerous virus that slithered its way into the system when the victim was visiting a porn site.

Again, this is definitely a lie aimed at fooling the user into adhering to the embedded fraudulent tech support instructions. By using the telephone number mentioned on the deceptive site, the victim will reach impostors rather than genuine Apple support. The person on the other end will either ask the caller to pay for the “repair” or to allow remote access to the Mac, supposedly for troubleshooting. In either scenario, the outcome is going to be adverse for the victim: they will waste money or get more viruses installed. Ultimately, the Pornographic Virus Alert from Apple scam popups make a mess of the affected user’s web surfing and need to be removed. Below are the effective how-to’s in this regard.

Pornographic Virus Alert from Apple scam manual removal for Mac

The steps listed below will walk you through the removal of this malicious application. Be sure to follow the instructions in the order specified.

  1. Open up the Utilities folder as shown below

  2. Locate the Activity Monitor icon on the screen and double-click on it

  3. Under Activity Monitor, find a suspicious entry, select it and click Quit Process
  4. A dialog should pop up, asking if you are sure you would like to quit the troublemaking process. Select the Force Quit option
  5. Click the Go button again, but this time select Applications on the list. Find the potential pest on the interface, right-click on it and select Move to Trash. If user password is required, go ahead and enter it

  6. Now go to Apple Menu and pick the System Preferences option

  7. Select Accounts and click the Login Items button. The system will come up with the list of the items that launch when the computer is started up. Locate the potentially unwanted app there and click on the “-“ button

Get rid of Pornographic Virus Alert from Apple scam popups in web browser on Mac

To begin with, settings for the web browser that got hit by the Pornographic Virus Alert from Apple scam should be restored to their default values. The overview of steps for this procedure is as follows:

  1. Reset Safari
    • Open the browser and go to Safari menu. Select Preferences in the drop-down list

    • Once the Preferences screen appears, hit the Privacy tab at the top. Find the option that says Remove All Website Data and click on it

    • The system will display a confirmation dialog that also includes a brief description of what the reset does. Specifically, you may be logged out of some services and encounter other changes of website behavior after the procedure. If you’re okay with that, go ahead and click the Remove Now button

    • In order to selectively clear data generated by certain websites only, not all of them, hit the Details button under the Privacy section of Safari Preferences

    • This feature will list all websites that have stored potentially sensitive data, including cache and cookies. Select the one, or ones, that might be causing trouble and click the appropriate button at the bottom (Remove or Remove All). Click the Done button to exit.
  2. Reset Google Chrome
    • Open Chrome, click the More (⁝) icon in the top right-hand part of the window, and select Settings in the drop-down
    • When on the Settings pane, select Advanced
    • Scroll down to the Reset settings section. Under the Restore settings to their original defaults option, click the Reset settings button

    • Confirm the Chrome reset on a dialog that will pop up. When the procedure is completed, relaunch the browser and check it for malware activity.
  3. Reset Mozilla Firefox
    • Open Firefox and select HelpTroubleshooting Information
    • On the page that opened, click the Reset Firefox button

Get rid of Pornographic Virus Alert from Apple using Freshmac removal tool

When confronted with malicious code like the Pornographic Virus Alert from Apple scam on Mac, you can neutralize its toxic impact by leveraging a specially crafted system utility. The Freshmac application (read review) is a perfect match for this purpose as it delivers essential security features along with must-have modules for Mac optimization.

This tool cleans unneeded applications and persistent malware in one click. It also protects your privacy by eliminating tracking cookies, frees up disk space, and manages startup apps to decrease boot time. On top of that, it boasts 24/7 tech support. The following steps will walk you through automatic removal of the infection from Mac.

  1. Download Freshmac installer onto your machine. Double-click the Freshmac.pkg file to trigger the installer window, select the destination disk and click Continue. The system will display a dialog asking for your password to authorize the setup. Type the password and click Install Software.

    Download Now

  2. Once the installation has been completed, Freshmac will automatically start a scan consisting of 5 steps. It scans cache, logs, unused languages, trash, and checks the Mac for privacy issues.

  3. The scan report will then display your current system health status and the number of issues detected for each of the above categories. Click the Fix Safely button to remove junk files and address privacy issues spotted during the scan.

  4. Check whether the Pornographic Virus Alert from Apple popup problem has been fixed. If it perseveres, go to the Uninstaller option on Freshmac GUI. Locate an entry that appears suspicious, select it and click Fix Safely button to force-uninstall the unwanted application.

  5. Go to Temp and Startup Apps panes on the interface and have all redundant or suspicious items eliminated as well. The Pornographic Virus Alert from Apple scam shouldn’t be causing any further trouble.
2

Was this article helpful? Please, rate this.

There are no comments yet.
Authentication required

You must log in to post a comment.

Log in