Skip to main content
Wie man den QSearch-Virus aus Safari, Chrome, Firefox auf Ihrem Mac entfernt

Wie man den QSearch-Virus aus Safari, Chrome, Firefox auf Ihrem Mac entfernt


Die Entfernung des QSearch-Virus vom Mac ist ein Muss, er übernimmt nämlich Webbrowser, um den Datenverkehr auf einen sozialen Suchdienst umzuleiten, nach dem das Opfer nicht gefragt hat.

Aktualisierung: April 2020

Sogar Anwender, die sich für sicherheitsorientiert halten, haben heutzutage möglicherweise Schwierigkeiten, gutartige von bösartigen Anwendungen zu unterscheiden. Der Grund dafür - Cyberkriminalität hat mit der Zeit hybride Formen angenommen und die Grenze zwischen dem digitalen Schwarz-Weiß verschwimmt wirklich immer mehr. Die Leute sehen sich infolgedessen einer Flut von Anwendungen aus der "Grauzone" gegenüber, die, wenn überhaupt, keinen großen Schaden anrichten, aber das Benutzererlebnis zum Erliegen bringen. QSearch ist ein Beispiel für solch einen Übeltäter. Es handelt sich dabei um eine Weblösung, die den Anspruch erhebt, die Lücke in der Facebook Chronik Suche zu überbrücken, etwas, das der fragliche Soziale Medien Riese noch nicht bereitgestellt hat. Wie bei vielen unklaren Diensten da draußen ist die Idee interessant, aber die Ausführung lässt noch viele Fragen offen.

QSearch virus redirects browsers on Mac to a rogue site

Der Vorbehalt in Bezug auf QSearch besteht darin, dass Mac-Benutzer immer wieder auf die Webseite von QSearch umgeleitet werden könnten. Diese Weiterleitung von Internet-Verkehr findet jenseits der Erlaubnis des Infizierten statt, was ein Alarmsignal darstellt, das auf ein Sicherheitsproblem hinweist. Die Kausalzusammenhang für diese unglückliche Wendung der Ereignisse liegt in einer Browser-Erweiterung, die auf Safari, Chrome und Firefox zugeschnitten ist. Ist diese einmal in den bevorzugten Webbrowser des Opfers eingebettet, verdreht die Erweiterung die benutzerdefinierten Einstellungen und kann eine JavaScript-gestützte Routine auslösen, die zu einer Neuausrichtung der Surf-Muster führt. Die entführte Homepage, die Standard-Suchmaschine und die neue Registerkarte gehen daher immer auf die falsche Seite, wie z.B. qsearch.cc oder analytics.qsearch.cc, wenn der Benutzer den Browser öffnet, und versucht, einige beliebige Informationen nachzuschlagen und eine neue Seite innerhalb des aktuellen Fensters lädt. Zu allem Überfluss kann diese Umleitungsaktivität auch zufällig auftreten oder mit harmlosen Mausklicks irgendwo auf irgendwelchen Webseiten ausgelöst werden. Es ist wahrscheinlich, dass als Teil dieses komplexen elektronischen Eindringens auch lästige Werbung angezeigt wird.

Die Landeseite selbst stellt für das Opfer kein nennenswertes Risiko dar, was eine gute Nachricht darstellt. Sie wirbt lediglich für den Kerndienst und ermutigt Anwender, sich zu registrieren und ihre gratis Testversion zu starten, um herauszufinden, wie die Durchsuchung der FB Chronik funktioniert. Ein zusätzlicher Haken ist, dass QSearch angeblich das Herausfiltern von Trendthemen in sozialen Medien ermöglicht und mit einem Bedienfeld ausgestattet ist, das diese Daten visualisiert, was für Unternehmen von Interesse sein könnte. Dieses gesamte Toolkit im Portfolio der App wird jedoch von den fragwürdigen ethischen Marketingtaktiken, die dahinter stehen, überschattet.

Abgesehen von den oben genannten relativ geringen Auswirkungen, die einen schmalen Grat zwischen Legitimität und regelrechtem Betrug betreten, zeigt diese Infektion ihre Reißzähne auf eine viel nervigere Art und Weise. Sie kann den Webbrowser des Opfers zur Webseite qsearch.pw umleiten, die ihrerseits Bing oder Yahoo öffnet, nachdem sie den Webverkehr durch eine Reihe von Zwischendomänen geschleift hat. Diese Übergangsseiten werden von Werbeplattformen betrieben, die einzigartige Nutzerhits kaufen und verkaufen, ohne auf die Art und Weise zu achten, wo diese Leads herrühren. Obwohl es sich bei der in diesem speziellen Umleitungs-Szenario resultierende Webseite um eine beliebte Suchmaschine handelt, deren Ruf nicht durch zweifelhafte Werbung befleckt ist, missbrauchen die Betreiber des QSearch-Virus sie als Deckmantel für eine unethische Monetarisierung auf dem infizierten Mac, wo er Fuß gefasst hat. In einigen Fällen führt die Webseite qsearch.pw zu Diensten, die ohne Zweifel bösartig sind, wie zum Beispiel SearchMine. Dieser Cocktail schädlicher Eigenschaften macht die Bedrohung zu einer treibenden Kraft verschiedener berüchtigter Malvertising-Kampagnen.

Die wahrscheinlichste Art und Weise, wie der QSearch-Virus auf einem Mac-Computer landet, sind sogenannte 'Bundles', Programme, die mit Software im Bündel kommen. Im Klartext: Es handelt sich hierbei um eine Technik, bei der zusammen mit normaler Software zwielichtige Objekte mitgeschleift werden. Die Chancen, Opfer eines solchen Tricks zu werden, steigen in Szenarien mit gratis Anwendungsinstallationen. Während die Anwender glauben, ein harmloses Programm zu erhalten, das keine Abo-Gebühren einfordert, können sie so lange auf das Programm klicken, bis sie dem Täter unwissentlich erlauben, einzudringen. Es wird daher immer empfohlen, die benutzerdefinierte Installation der Express-Option vorzuziehen - dadurch wird das Vorhandensein der gebündelten Objekte im Paket offengelegt und Sie können sie abwählen. Egal, wenn der QSearch-Virus an Bord Ihres Mac ist und den Browser auf unerwünschte Seiten umleitet, halten Sie sich an die folgenden Tipps, um ihn wieder loszuwerden.


QSearch Virus manuelle Entfernung für Mac

Die unten stehenden Schritte führen Sie durch die Entfernung dieser potenziell unerwünschten Anwendung. Befolgen Sie die Anleitungen in der angegebenen Reihenfolge.

  1. Öffnen Sie den Ordner Dienstprogramme (Utilities) wie unten gezeigt

    Öffne die Dienstprogramme

  2. Suchen Sie das Aktivitätsanzeige-Symbol (Activity Monitor) auf dem Bildschirm und doppelklicken Sie darauf

    Suchen Sie den Aktivitätsanzeige

  3. Suchen Sie unter Aktivitätsanzeige (Activity Monitor) den Eintrag für QSearch, wählen Sie ihn aus und klicken Sie auf Prozess beenden (Quit Process)

    Prozess beenden unter Aktivitätsanzeige

  4. Es sollte ein Dialog erscheinen, in dem Sie gefragt werden, ob Sie sicher sind, dass Sie die ausführbare QSearch Datei beenden möchten. Wählen Sie die Option Beenden Erzwingen (Force Quit).
  5. Klicken Sie erneut auf die Schaltfläche Gehe zu (Go), wählen Sie jedoch diesmal Programme (Applications) in der Liste aus.

    Gehe zu Programme

  6. Suchen Sie den Eintrag für QSearch auf der Benutzeroberfläche, klicken Sie mit der rechten Maustaste darauf und wählen Sie In den Papierkorb legen (Move to Trash). Wenn das Benutzerpasswort erforderlich ist, geben Sie es ein.

    Schädliches App-Symbol unter Programme

  7. Gehen Sie jetzt zum Apple-Menü und wählen Sie die Systemeinstellungen.

    Wählen Sie die Systemeinstellungen

  8. Wählen Sie Benutzer und klicken Sie auf die Schaltfläche Anmeldeobjekte (Login Items). Das System wird die Liste der Artikel anzeigen, die beim Start der Box gestartet werden. Suchen Sie dort QSearch und klicken Sie auf den "-" Knopf.

    Schädlicher App-Eintrag unter Anmeldeobjekte


Entfernen des QSearch im Web Browser auf dem Mac los

Zunächst sollten die vom QSearch redirect-Virus übernommenen Webbrowser-Einstellungen auf ihre Standardwerte zurückgesetzt werden. Dadurch werden zwar die meisten Ihrer Anpassungen, der Verlauf Ihres Web-Surfens und sämtliche temporären Daten, die von Webseiten gespeichert wurden, gelöscht, aber die schädlichen Beeinträchtigungen sollten ebenfalls beendet werden. Die Übersicht über die Schritte, wie dieses Verfahrens durchgeführt wird, ist wie folgt:

  1. Entfernen Sie den QSearch Virus vom Safari
    • Öffnen Sie den Browser und gehen Sie zum Safari menü. Wählen Sie in der Dropdown-Liste Einstellungen.

      Gehen Sie zu Einstellungen in Safari

    • Wenn der Dialog Einstellungen erscheint, klicken Sie auf die Registerkarte Erweitert und aktivieren Sie die Option "Menü “Entwickler” in der Menüleiste anzeigen".

      Erweiterte Registerkarte unter Safari-Einstellungen

    • Jetzt, wo der Eintrag Entwickler zum Menü Safari hinzugefügt worden ist, erweitern Sie ihn und klicken Sie auf Cache-Speicher leeren.

      Leeren Sie die Cache-Speicher in Safari

    • Wählen Sie jetzt Verlauf im Menü Safari und klicken Sie in der Dropdown-Liste auf Verlauf löschen.

      Löschen Sie den Verlauf in Safari

    • Safari zeigt einen Dialog an, in dem Sie gebeten werden, den Zeitraum anzugeben, für den diese Aktion gelten soll. Wählen Sie gesamten Verlauf, um einen maximalen Effekt sicherzustellen. Klicken Sie auf die Schaltfläche Verlauf löschen, um die Aktion zu bestätigen und zu beenden.

      Wählen Sie gesamten Verlauf zum Löschen aus

    • Gehen Sie zurück zu den Safari-Einstellungen und klicken Sie oben auf die Registerkarte Datenschutz. Suchen Sie die Option Websitedaten verwalten und klicken Sie darauf.

      Option Websitedaten verwalten unter der Registerkarte Datenschutz

    • Der Browser zeigt einen Folgebildschirm an, in dem die Webseiten aufgelistet sind, die Daten über Ihre Internetaktivitäten gespeichert haben. Dieser Dialog enthält zusätzlich eine kurze Beschreibung, was das Löschen bewirkt: Sie werden möglicherweise von einigen Diensten abgemeldet und stoßen nach dem Vorgang auf andere Änderungen des Website-Verhaltens. Wenn Sie damit einverstanden sind, klicken Sie auf die Schaltfläche Alle entfernen.

      Bestätigungsdialog

    • Starten Sie Safari neu
  2. Entfernen des QSearch von Google Chrome
    • Öffnen Sie Chrome, klicken Sie im oberen rechten Teil des Fensters auf das Symbol Google Chrome anpassen und einstellen (⁝) und wählen Sie Einstellungen in der Dropdown-Liste.

      Chrome Einstellungen

    • Wenn Sie sich im Bereich Einstellungen befinden, wählen Sie Erweitert.
    • Scrollen Sie nach unten zum Abschnitt Einstellungen zurücksetzen.

      Abschnitt Einstellungen zurücksetzen

    • Bestätigen Sie das Zurücksetzen von Chrome in einem Dialogfeld, das erscheinen wird. Wenn der Vorgang abgeschlossen ist, starten Sie den Browser neu und überprüfen Sie ihn auf Malware-Aktivität.

      So setzen Sie die Einstellungen in Chrome auf dem Mac zurück

  3. Entfernen des QSearch vom Mozilla Firefox
    • Öffnen Sie Firefox und gehen Sie zu Hilfe - Informationen zur Fehlerbehebung (oder tippen Sie about:support in die URL-Leiste ein und drücken Sie die Eingabetaste).

      Firefox Hilfe

      Informationen zur Fehlerbehebung

    • Wenn Sie sich auf dem Bildschirm Informationen zur Fehlerbehebung befinden, klicken Sie auf die Schaltfläche Firefox bereinigen.

      Firefox auf dem Mac neu starten

    • Bestätigen Sie die beabsichtigten Änderungen und starten Sie Firefox neu.

Entfernen Sie den QSearch Virus mit dem automatischen Entfernungsprogramm Combo Cleaner

Die Wartungs- und Sicherheitsanwendung für den Mac namens Combo Cleaner ist ein One-Stop-Tool zur Erkennung und Entfernung des QSearch Virus. Diese Technik hat wesentliche Vorteile gegenüber der manuellen Bereinigung, da das Programm stündlich Updates der Virendefinitionen erhält und selbst die neuesten Mac-Infektionen genau erkennen kann.

Außerdem wird die automatische Lösung die Kerndateien der Malware tief in der Systemstruktur, deren Lokalisierung sonst eine Herausforderung darstellen könnte, finden. Hier ist ein Lösungsweg, um das QSearch Problem mit Combo Cleaner zu lösen:

  1. Laden Sie das Installationsprogramm von Combo Cleaner herunter. . Nachdem Sie das gemacht haben, doppelklicken Sie auf die Datei combocleaner.dmg und folgen Sie den Anweisungen zur Installation des Tools auf Ihren Mac.

    Jetzt herunterladen

    Durch das Herunterladen von Anwendungen, die auf dieser Webseite empfohlen werden, erklären Sie sich mit unseren Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen und Datenschutzrichtlinie. Der gratis Scanner prüft, ob Ihr Mac infiziert ist. Um die Malware loszuwerden, müssen Sie die Premium-Version von Combo Cleaner erwerben.

  2. Öffnen Sie die Anwendung von Ihrem Launchpad aus und lassen Sie sie die Datenbank mit den Malware-Signaturen aktualisieren, um sicherzustellen, dass sie die neuesten Bedrohungen erkennen kann.
  3. Klicken Sie auf die Schaltfläche Combo Scan starten, um Ihren Mac auf böswillige Aktivitäten sowie auf Leistungsprobleme zu überprüfen.

    Combo Cleaner Mac scan progress

  4. Untersuchen Sie die Scan-Ergebnisse. Wenn der Bericht "Keine Bedrohungen" besagt, sind Sie mit der manuellen Bereinigung auf dem richtigen Weg und können den Web-Browser, der aufgrund der Nachwirkungen des Malware-Angriffs möglicherweise weiterhin untätig bleibt, sicher aufräumen (siehe Anweisungen oben).

    Combo Cleaner scan report – no threats found

  5. Falls Combo Cleaner bösartigen Code entdeckt hat, klicken Sie auf die Schaltfläche Ausgewählte Objekte entfernen und lassen Sie das Dienstprogramm die QSearch Bedrohung zusammen mit anderen Viren, PUPs (potenziell unerwünschten Programmen) oder Junk-Dateien, die nicht auf Ihren Mac gehören, entfernen.

    Combo Cleaner – threats found

  6. Wenn Sie sich doppelt vergewissert haben, dass die bösartige Anwendung deinstalliert ist, könnte die Fehlerbehebung auf Browserebene immer noch auf Ihrer Aufgaben-Liste stehen. Wenn Ihr bevorzugter Browser betroffen ist, greifen Sie auf den vorherigen Abschnitt dieses Tutorials zurück, um zum stressfreien Surfen im Internet zurückzukehren.

31

War dieser Artikel hilfreich? Bitte, bewerten Sie das.

There are no comments yet.
Authentication required

You must log in to post a comment.

Log in

Skip to main content

How to remove QSearch virus from Safari, Chrome, Firefox on Mac


QSearch virus removal from Mac is a must-do because it takes over web browsers to redirect the traffic to a social search service the victims didn’t ask for.

Update: September 2020

Even the users who think they are security-minded might have some hard time differentiating benign applications from malicious ones these days. That’s because cybercrime has become hybrid over time, and the borderline between the digital black and white is really blurred. As a result, people are facing a slew of apps from the “gray area” that don’t cause much, if any, damage but make the user experience go down the drain. QSearch is an example of such a controversy. It is a web solution that claims to bridge the gap in Facebook Timeline search, something that the social media giant in question has yet to provide. As is the case with many sketchy services out there, the idea is interesting but the implementation leaves plenty of questions unanswered.

QSearch virus redirects browsers on Mac to a rogue site

Intrusive promotion practices

The caveat regarding QSearch is that Mac users may be recurrently redirected to its site. This forwarding of Internet traffic takes place beyond the permission of whoever is infected, which is a red flag indicating a security concern. The causality for this unfortunate turn of events involves a browser extension that supports Safari, Chrome, and Firefox. Once embedded in the victim’s preferred Internet surfing tool, the add-on twists the custom settings and may trigger a JavaScript-powered routine that leads to a reorientation of the browsing patterns. The hijacked homepage, default search engine and new tab page therefore resolve the wrong site, such as qsearch.cc or analytics.qsearch.cc, whenever the user opens the browser, tries to look up some arbitrary information, and loads a new page within the current window. To top it off, the redirect activity may also occur at random or accompany innocuous mouse clicks anywhere on any websites. It’s likely that annoying ads will be displayed as part of this complex electronic intrusion as well.

The landing page itself does not pose any significant risk to the victim, which is some good news. It simply advertises the core service and encourages the users to sign up and start their free trial to check out how the Timeline scouring works. One additional catch is that QSearch purportedly allows singling out trending topics on social media and goes equipped with a dashboard visualizing this data, which might be of interest to businesses. However, this whole toolkit in the app’s portfolio is overshadowed by the questionably ethical marketing tactics behind it.

Browser redirects via qsearch.pw

Aside from the above relatively mild impact staying on a slim margin between legitimacy and outright fraud, this infection bares its fangs in a much more frustrating way. It can redirect the victim’s web browser to qsearch.pw website which, in turn, opens Bing or Yahoo after flinging the web traffic through a series of intermediate domains. These transitional pages are run by advertising platforms that buy and sell unique user hits without paying heed to the way these leads are provided. Although the resulting site in this particular redirect scenario is a popular search engine whose reputation isn’t tainted by dubious promotion, the operators of QSearch virus use it as a cover for unethical monetization of their foothold in the infected Mac. In some cases, qsearch.pw web page leads to services that are undoubtedly malicious, such as SearchMine. This cocktail of adverse properties turns the threat into a driving force of different notorious malvertising campaigns.

Safari rerouting via qsearch.pw in progress

Qsearch.com spinoff displaying fake virus alerts

Another variant of this virus uses qsearch.com landing page instead. This one impersonates an official Apple support resource and focuses on hoodwinking Mac users into downloading and installing a piece of scareware. It says, “Your system is infected with 3 viruses” and triggers an extra popup saying that a Trojan called e.tre456_worm_osx has been detected on the computer. The pseudo-repair process presupposes that the victim opts for an online scan for threats. The scan report will list several more imaginary viruses, emphasizing that the only cleanup method is to use the “recommended” tool, which is a fake security app in disguise.

QSearch distribution schemes

The most probable way that the QSearch virus ends up on a Mac computer is through bundles. In plain words, this is a technique that co-promotes shady items along with regular software. The odds of falling victim to the scheme increase in free application installation scenarios. While believing they are getting one harmless program that doesn’t require any subscription fees, the users may click on and on until they unwittingly allow the culprit to get inside. Therefore, it’s always recommended to choose custom install over the express option – this will disclose the presence of the bundled objects in the package.

When it comes to the top driving force of QSearch malware distribution, it borrows a page from the playbook of the nastiest adware threats targeting Mac computers. Its operators cash in on fake Adobe Flash Player update popups. This long-standing hoax involves misleading alerts shown on a plethora of hacked and malicious web pages. These spoofed notifications try to get users on the hook by stating that the Flash Player version installed on their machines is obsolete and needs a refresh otherwise the online multimedia experience will be incomplete. In the meanwhile, the booby-trapped installer executes the bundled sketchy payload behind the scenes. Anyways, if the QSearch virus is on board your Mac and redirects the browser to unwanted sites, stick with the tips below to get rid of it.


QSearch redirect virus manual removal for Mac

The steps listed below will walk you through the removal of this malicious application. Be sure to follow the instructions in the specified order.

  1. Expand the Go menu in your Mac’s Finder bar and select Utilities as shown below.

    Go to Utilities

  2. Locate the Activity Monitor icon on the Utilities screen and double-click on it.

    Select the Activity Monitor

  3. In the Activity Monitor app, look for QSearch or another process that appears suspicious. To narrow down your search, focus on unfamiliar resource-intensive entries on the list. Keep in mind that its name isn’t necessarily related to the way the threat is manifesting itself, so you’ll need to trust your own judgement. If you pinpoint the culprit, select it and click on the Stop icon in the upper left-hand corner of the screen.

    Stop malicious process

  4. When a follow-up dialog pops up asking if you are sure you want to quit the troublemaking process, select the Force Quit option.

    Select the Force Quit option

  5. Click on the Go menu icon in the Finder again and select Go to Folder. You can as well use the Command-Shift-G keyboard shortcut.

    Use the Go to Folder feature

  6. Type /Library/LaunchAgents in the folder search dialog and click on the Go button.

    Open /Library/LaunchAgents folder

  7. Examine the contents of the LaunchAgents folder for dubious-looking items. Be advised that the names of files spawned by malware may give no clear clues that they are malicious, so you should look for recently added entities that appear to deviate from the norm.

    As an illustration, here are several examples of LaunchAgents related to mainstream Mac infections: com.pcv.hlpramc.plist, com.updater.mcy.plist, com.avickUpd.plist, and com.msp.agent.plist. If you spot files that don’t belong on the list, go ahead and drag them to the Trash.

    Root-level LaunchAgents folder contents

  8. Use the Go to Folder lookup feature again to navigate to the folder named ~/Library/Application Support (note the tilde symbol prepended to the path).

    Open ~/Library/Application Support folder

  9. When the Application Support directory is opened, identify recently generated suspicious folders in it and send them to the Trash. A quick tip is to look for items whose names have nothing to do with Apple products or apps you knowingly installed. A few examples of known-malicious folder names are Quick Mac Booster, IdeaShared, and ProgressMatch.

    Application Support folder contents

  10. Enter ~/Library/LaunchAgents string (don’t forget to include the tilde character) in the Go to Folder search area.

    Open ~/Library/LaunchAgents directory

  11. The system will display LaunchAgents residing in the current user’s Home directory. Look for dodgy items related to QSearch virus (see logic highlighted in subsections above) and drag the suspects to the Trash.

    Contents of LaunchAgents folder in user’s home directory

  12. Type /Library/LaunchDaemons in the Go to Folder search field.

    Go to /Library/LaunchDaemons

  13. In the LaunchDaemons path, try to pinpoint the files the malware is using for persistence. Several examples of such items cropped by Mac infections are com.pplauncher.plist, com.startup.plist, and com.ExpertModuleSearchDaemon.plist. Delete the sketchy files immediately.

    LaunchDaemons folder contents

  14. Click on the Go menu icon in your Mac’s Finder and select Applications on the list.

    Go to Applications screen on Mac

  15. Find QSearch or another app that clearly doesn’t belong there and move it to the Trash. If this action requires your admin password for confirmation, go ahead and enter it.

    Drag malicious app to the Trash

  16. Expand the Apple menu and select System Preferences.

    Select System Preferences

    Open System Preferences

  17. Proceed to Users & Groups and click on the Login Items tab.

    Proceed to Users & Groups

    The system will display the list of items launched when the computer is starting up. Locate the potentially unwanted app there and click on the “-” (minus) button.

    Delete unwanted login item

  18. Now select Profiles under System Preferences. Look for a malicious item in the left-hand sidebar. Several examples of configuration profiles created by Mac adware include TechSignalSearch, MainSearchPlatform, AdminPrefs, and Chrome Settings. Select the offending entity and click on the minus sign at the bottom to eliminate it.

    Select Profiles under System Preferences

    Remove malicious configuration profile from Mac

    If your Mac has been infiltrated by adware, the infection will most likely continue to hold sway over your default web browser even after you remove the underlying application along with its components sprinkled around the system. Use the browser cleanup instructions below to address the remaining consequences of this attack.

Get rid of QSearch virus in web browser on Mac

To begin with, the web browser settings taken over by the QSearch virus should be restored to their default values. Although this will clear most of your customizations, web surfing history, and all temporary data stored by websites, the malicious interference should be terminated likewise. The overview of the steps for completing this procedure is as follows:

  1. Remove QSearch virus from Safari
    • Open the browser and go to Safari menu. Select Preferences in the drop-down list

      Go to Preferences in Safari

    • Once the Preferences screen appears, click on the Advanced tab and enable the option saying “Show Develop menu in menu bar”.

      Advanced tab under Safari Preferences

    • Now that the Develop entry has been added to the Safari menu, expand it and click on Empty Caches.

      Empty Caches in Safari

    • Now select History in the Safari menu and click on Clear History in the drop-down list.

      Clear history in Safari

    • Safari will display a dialog asking you to specify the period of time this action will apply to. Select all history to ensure a maximum effect. Click on the Clear History button to confirm and exit.

      Select all history to clear

    • Go back to the Safari Preferences and hit the Privacy tab at the top. Find the option that says Manage Website Data and click on it.

      Manage Website Data option under Privacy tab

    • The browser will display a follow-up screen listing the websites that have stored data about your Internet activities. This dialog additionally includes a brief description of what the removal does: you may be logged out of some services and encounter other changes of website behavior after the procedure. If you’re okay with that, go ahead and click on the Remove All button.

      Confirmation dialog

    • Restart Safari
  2. Remove QSearch in Google Chrome
    • Open Chrome, click the Customize and control Google Chrome (⁝) icon in the top right-hand part of the window, and select Settings in the drop-down

      Chrome Settings

    • When on the Settings pane, select Advanced
    • Scroll down to the Reset settings section.

      Reset settings in Chrome on Mac

    • Confirm the Chrome reset on a dialog that will pop up. When the procedure is completed, relaunch the browser and check it for malware activity.

      Here’s how to reset settings in Chrome on Mac

  3. Remove QSearch from Mozilla Firefox
    • Open Firefox and go to Help – Troubleshooting Information (or type about:support in the URL bar and press Enter).

      Open Firefox and go to Help

      Select Troubleshooting Information

    • When on the Troubleshooting Information screen, click on the Refresh Firefox button.

      Refresh Firefox on Mac

    • Confirm the intended changes and restart Firefox.

Get rid of QSearch redirect virus Mac using Combo Cleaner removal tool

The Mac maintenance and security app called Combo Cleaner is a one-stop tool to detect and remove QSearch virus. This technique has substantial benefits over manual cleanup, because the utility gets hourly virus definition updates and can accurately spot even the newest Mac infections.

Furthermore, the automatic solution will find the core files of the malware deep down the system structure, which might otherwise be a challenge to locate. Here’s a walkthrough to sort out the QSearch issue using Combo Cleaner:

  1. Download Combo Cleaner installer. When done, double-click the combocleaner.dmg file and follow the prompts to install the tool onto your Mac.

    Download Combo Cleaner

    By downloading any applications recommended on this website you agree to our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy. The free scanner checks whether your Mac is infected. To get rid of malware, you need to purchase the Premium version of Combo Cleaner.

  2. Open the app from your Launchpad and let it run the update of malware signature database to make sure it can identify the latest threats.
  3. Click the Start Combo Scan button to check your Mac for malicious activity as well as performance issues.

    Combo Cleaner Mac scan progress

  4. Examine the scan results. If the report says “No Threats”, then you are on the right track with the manual cleaning and can safely proceed to tidy up the web browser that may continue to act up due to the after-effects of the malware attack (see instructions above).

    Combo Cleaner scan report – no threats found

  5. In case Combo Cleaner has detected malicious code, click the Remove Selected Items button and have the utility remove QSearch threat along with any other viruses, PUPs (potentially unwanted programs), or junk files that don’t belong on your Mac.

    Combo Cleaner – threats found

  6. Once you have made doubly sure that the malicious app is uninstalled, the browser-level troubleshooting might still be on your to-do list. If your preferred browser is affected, resort to the previous section of this tutorial to revert to hassle-free web surfing.

FAQ

32

Was this article helpful? Please, rate this.

There are no comments yet.
Authentication required

You must log in to post a comment.

Log in